Quad ddr2 ram???

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by flinstone, Nov 25, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #1
    Hi my quad is coming soon now. So i want to stuff it with lots of RAM!
    My question is: Does it make any difference in speed if i buy a lot more expensive cl2 ram instead of cl4? Is the mac automatically change it's settings according to the ram inserted? I guess you should use only one type of ram at a time right? ETC
    Thanks in advance for every.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    All DDR2 RAM is CL4. The Power Mac's only take DDR2 RAM.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    You're not going to find CL2 DDR-2 RAM

    DDR-2 533 MHz RAM is mostly CL4, with a few companies offering expensive CL3 module to PC Gamers

    In order to take advantage of lower CAS Latencies, the motherboard has to be capable of adjusting its timings, either automatically (such as with Intel's "PAT" technology) or by manual adjustment of the BIOS settings.

    Apple has never indicated that thier motherboards will adjust to faster timings, and of course there is no BIOS setting for Mac owners to tweak.

    Barefeats has run one test that may indicate DDR-2 CL3 RAM is faster in a G5 than CL4, however the improvement was within the margin of error and I don't think the test is conclusive.

    As usual, buy your RAM from a reputable vendor who tests and guarantees compatibility with your model Macintosh, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #4
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    Those are the secondary timings, not the CAS timing. Those modules run very high frequencies at CAS4 or you can sacrifice some mhz for CAS3 timing. :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #6
    Hmmmm

    OK....cl3 than.
    But is it faster??????????????
    That was actually what i would like to now.
    Does anybody have any prove??? I hope so:D
     
  7. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    "Apple has never indicated that thier motherboards will adjust to faster timings, and of course there is no BIOS setting for Mac owners to tweak.

    Barefeats has run one test that may indicate DDR-2 CL3 RAM is faster in a G5 than CL4, however the improvement was within the margin of error and I don't think the test is conclusive."

    http://www.barefeats.com/dc20.html CL4 vs. CL3 memory on the Dualcore resulted in marginal improvements on synthetic benchmarks.

    "Other memory tests weren't as dramatic. The average on the STREAM test showed the CAS 3 memory to only be 3% faster. More to the point, when we ran our real world tests, the times were virtually identical no matter what memory we used."
     

Share This Page