Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

clarkjamesdigit

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2012
Ok. so after my thread from last year https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/1405208/ I still haven't upgraded my hardware, but i'm about to for definite this time.

I must have spent god knows how long in the apple store, but really the employees don't really know that much, besides this is a decision only I can make- but I will need some help

basically i'm a photographer, and I do graphic/web design, occasionally some 3d rendering and video editing but it's not really a priority at the moment- but if I can make money doing it I will, and I think video and 3d will become more and more important to me in the future.

My current laptop is 2.4ghz 2008 core2duo- old!

here's what i'm thinking:

i'm thinking 15" macbook pro/retina, but i'm starting to feel the size/weight are a problem for portability reasons.

Maybe the 13"'s (upgraded to 2.9 i7) aren't powerful enough (and no gpu?) to be my sole laptop.

So I started to think about getting 2 systems, a portable solution and a desktop solution.

I already have a great 26" ips screen, but I wouldn't be against selling it, and I actually have an ipad right now, which I have 14 days to keep or return,
so

option 1) 27" imac 2012 (need usb 3) for £1500 with a few large usb 3 drives, and then keep current laptop, upgrade with ssd and keep ipad

option 2) 2008 mac pro with lots of ram, a few internal hdd's and an ssd, dual quad core 2.8ghz xeon's for about £600-700, and then a macbook air 11/13" for my on the go laptop. Keep or sell current laptop and don't bother with ipad

option 3) 15" mbp/retina for around £1500, and keep ipad. or 13" 2.9ghz and pocket the change.

option 4) quad core mac mini, maxed out ram with external drives, and then a 13/11" macbook air or possible base spec 13" pro, take back ipad