Quad Monitor Setup with GTX 670 / GT 120 on a Mac Pro 4,1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sarthak, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. sarthak, Mar 10, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    Right now I am using a single 27" 2560x1440 display and moving back to smaller but multiple monitors. I am wondering if my current (see sig) Mac Pro 4,1 with the GTX 670 (ZOTAC) and GT 120 will be able to handle 4 x 1080p displays. I will be using the 4 x 24" monitors in portrait mode until I can get a stand for a 2 X 2 configuration. The monitors support DVI only. I will be using them for multitasking and media work.

    I have:
    - GTX 670 (2x DVI-D, 1x HDMI, 1x DP)
    - GT 120 (1x DVI-D, 1x MDP)
    - Will buy MDP -> DVI or DP -> DVI adapter if needed
    - NOT WILLING TO BUY ANOTHER GRAPHIC CARD.

    Will I be able to drive the 4 displays from which one of these 3 configurations?

    CONFIGURATION 1
    [​IMG]

    CONFIGURATION 2
    [​IMG]

    CONFIGURATION 3
    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2
    Any of those configurations would work, and my suggestion would be to try config 2 if at all possible (i.e. drive everything from the GTX 670). Config 1 would be the second best choice, followed by config 3.
     
  3. sarthak, Mar 10, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Nice! Thanks for the reply. I have put the order in for the displays. I'll definitely try driving everything from the GTX 670. I know the 670 is capable of running 4 monitors (or 3 if they are 3D) in Windows with Nvidia Surround but haven't found any information that can prove they work in OS X. I will put in an order for the DP -> DVI, HDMI -> DVI and a MDP -> DVI for testing.

    If they can be driven off the single card, then I might be able to do a bit of gaming with the GTX 670. Otherwise, the 670 is a bit overkill for productivity and media work. I might downgrade to 2 X APPLE GT120 cards (or 2X 5770) a few months from now.

    Do you know if it makes a difference if it is DVI or DVI-D? The monitors say they use DVI-D.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4
    People have definitely confirmed that the Kepler cards can drive 4 displays under OS X using the NVIDIA driver for 10.8.2.

    DVI-D means digital only, i.e. you can't drive an analog display from that connector:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

    In your case, that won't matter and DVI-D is just fine since you're driving a digital display.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Good to hear that it might work. I assume these would be sufficient.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
  7. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Why the 2 different DP to DVI adapters.

    Remember that DP has a standard single link dvi feed as part of it's "legacy" component. This is merely passed through via a passive adapter. Only if you need to drive a DVI display beyond 1920x1200 do you need the Dual Link Active one.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    When I tried to order, the active MDP - DVI adapter went out of stock so I just got the passive MDP -> DVI adapter. The other one is a full size display port -> DVI adapter because I would like to try all the configurations.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    So I got the displays and have three of them running currently in portrait mode. The issue is that the display connected to the GT120 is not working, get a BLACK SCREEN WITH CURSOR. Only works when it is in landscape. Googled it and found out that a lot of people seem to have this issue.

    They are connected like this at the moment:
    GTX 670: DISPLAY LEFT / DISPLAY CENTER (DVI)
    GT120: DISPLAY RIGHT

    I have tried to connect the RIGHT display via MDP->VGA but still the same thing. I downloaded the Nvidia driver for Mac and that made things worse (graphical bugs and broken UI), so I uninstalled it.

    I just can't seem to get the display connected to the GT120 to work in portrait. I am still waiting on getting the adapters so I can use the RIGHT and FAR LEFT display connected to the GTX670.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    UPDATE:

    Removed the GT120 and have two monitors connected to the GTX670 in portrait via DVI. Works just fine. As for the other two displays, I ordered a HDMI->DVI and a DP->DVI cable. Will test once I receive them.

    Driven off the singe GTX670 in the system.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Got the cables. Works just fine, 4 displays are being driven off the single GTX670.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page