Quad-Processor PowerMacs

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by grneyedjay, Jun 17, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone else remember the DayStar PowerMacs? I stumbled across some information on them....I once worked at a place that had a DayStar--4 Processors (can't remember how fast), 512mb ram, cant remember the hd but i remember there were 4 of them....yeah, all in 1998!! Or it might have been bought earlier..wow.

    http://lowendmac.com/daystar/genesis.html
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    themadchemist

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Chi Town
    #2
    wouldn't have done much good back then...Before OS X, Mac OS didn't handle preemptive multitasking very well.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Could it run AUX? (wasn't that about the same time?)
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    A/UX was more of an early 90's thing. I wouldn't be suprised if it could run it though.

    Edit: Speaking of anachronistic software. I just found out that a circa 1985 copy of MacDraw from my Dad's old compact Mac runs perfectly happily under Classic on my Rev C PB 12". I love OS X. Backward compatible and still faster than an ornithophobic being chased by an ostrich.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #5
    A/UX ran on the wg servers and such. Before my quadra wg server 95 died 2 days ago it was running some very of a/ux. I gave it a proper funeral.... :( The hd has spun down for the last time :( :( :( :(
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    #6
    Yeah, we were running Adobe After Effects and you had to have special multiprocessor plugins to get it to use all 4, and worked quite well.....for other applications, not so much..
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    themadchemist

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Chi Town
    #7
    ah, that would do it. forgot about the ol' plugins. :cool:
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Evergreen State
    #8
    I have the mainboard!

    If you want the mainboard, I have it!

    I am posting the mainboard only (the only part I have) up for auction on eBay. If you are interested, check it out. (Only one day left on the auction too, and the price is right).

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5101927055
     

Share This Page