Quadro & GeForce Mac OS X Driver Release 313.01.01 for OS X 10.8.3 now available

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nigelbb, May 15, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #1
    I downloaded & installed CUDA 5.0.58 a week or two ago & when I checked System Preferences today it prompted me to update to 5.0.59 so I checked on the Nvidia website & their new driver for 10.8.3 is now available http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-313.01.01f03-driver.html

    ----------

    OK, should have checked that it actually worked before posting but it appears the file on Nvidia's website is corrupt as I get the error :-

    The following disk images couldn't be opened
    WebDriver-313.01.01f03.dmg Not recognized
     
  2. cal6n, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2013

    macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #2
    It installed fine for me.

    *edit* As Asgorath notes below, I downloaded the .pkg file.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #4
    Thanks a lot guys. Now why didn't I think of that?:)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #5
    It hasn't helped with Civ5's unexpected quits. :(
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    What's going wrong? I haven't played Civ5 in a while. Do you have a crash log?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Its things like this that made me wish I had stay'ed with mac for longer than I did before going with a pc workstation
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #8
    The quits began with 10.8.3 and the latest G&K patch from Aspyr. Difficult to to say whether the OS or the game or a combination of the two are to blame. I got occasional quits using my old Apple branded 5870, an unflashed GTX 670 and now a flashed GTX 680. These quits are the only issue I have with the whole of my system.

    Aspyr support were unable to help while I was running the 5870, suggesting that a VGA switch box was to blame, even though it was unpowered and connected to nothing at the time. Disconnecting it didn't improve matters.

    Maybe I'll try them again. Anyway, here's today's crash report.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #9
    Yeah, it's unrelated to graphics drivers, the game itself is crashing:

    I would forward that crash report to Aspyr if you can, since they'll be the only ones who can fix it.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #10
    I have done.

    However, that's not the only type of crash I see. Sometimes it's thread 5 that crashes:

    Code:
    Process:         Civilization V [858]
    Path:            /Users/USER/Library/Application Support/Steam/*/Civilization V.app/Contents/MacOS/Civilization V
    Identifier:      com.aspyr.civ5xp.steam
    Version:         1.2.0 (109780)
    Code Type:       X86 (Native)
    Parent Process:  launchd [277]
    User ID:         3326
    
    Date/Time:       2013-05-01 15:45:43.494 +0100
    OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.8.3 (12D78)
    Report Version:  10
    
    Interval Since Last Report:          696661 sec
    Crashes Since Last Report:           18
    Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  3169 sec
    Per-App Crashes Since Last Report:   1
    Anonymous UUID:                      2C9A909A-41BA-1B6A-7E1F-C2169C3AF4A0
    
    Crashed Thread:  5
    
    Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
    Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000004
    
    VM Regions Near 0x4:
    --> __PAGEZERO             0000000000000000-0000000000001000 [    4K] ---/--- SM=NUL  /Users/USER/Library/Application Support/Steam/*/Civilization V.app/Contents/MacOS/Civilization V
        __TEXT                 0000000000001000-0000000000b00000 [ 11.0M] r-x/rwx SM=COW  /Users/USER/Library/Application Support/Steam/*/Civilization V.app/Contents/MacOS/Civilization V
    
    and

    Code:
    Thread 5 Crashed:
    0   libsystem_c.dylib             	0x92da8d3a bzero$VARIANT$sse42 + 90
    1   libGLProgrammability.dylib    	0x1388147c BitSetSetRangeEqualsInternal + 122
    2   libGLProgrammability.dylib    	0x138812e1 BitSetNew + 141
    3   libGLProgrammability.dylib    	0x1389c7e4 RegistersInitialize + 37
    4   libGLProgrammability.dylib    	0x138ab5ce glpPPShaderLinearizeStreamMgrEx + 5737
    5   libGLProgrammability.dylib    	0x138ab746 glpPPShaderLinearizeEx + 81
    6   libGLProgrammability.dylib    	0x138ab6f0 glpPPShaderLinearize + 32
    7   com.apple.GeForceGLDriver     	0x8e64af26 0x8e2fb000 + 3473190
    8   com.apple.GeForceGLDriver     	0x8e64b50d 0x8e2fb000 + 3474701
    9   com.apple.GeForceGLDriver     	0x8e543769 0x8e2fb000 + 2393961
    10  com.apple.GeForceGLDriver     	0x8e64aa18 0x8e2fb000 + 3471896
    11  com.apple.GeForceGLDriver     	0x8e638ce0 gldUpdateDispatch + 673
    12  GLEngine                      	0x136d6548 gleDoDrawDispatchCore + 590
    13  GLEngine                      	0x1364ed3d glDrawElementsInstancedBaseVertex_STD_Exec + 309
    14  GLEngine                      	0x1364ebfa glDrawElements_UnpackThread + 110
    15  GLEngine                      	0x136c8c28 gleCmdProcessorPTHREAD + 439
    16  libsystem_c.dylib             	0x92dbd5b7 _pthread_start + 344
    17  libsystem_c.dylib             	0x92da7d4e thread_start + 34
    
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #11
    Oh, interesting. That one looks like it's crashing while compiling a shader or something. Can you attach the full crash log for that one? I wonder if the game is just running out of memory, since I think it's still a 32-bit app.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #12
    Here you are. Good of you to take a look for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #13
    After install new item in the menu bar

    After installing this update I saw a new NVIDIA item in the menu bar at the right.`
    You can choose between default drivers and the web drivers.
    Also some other settings like auto updates etc..
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #14
    maybe the same problem as me with an EVGA 670 not flashed : crash at startup of a new game in civ V gods and kings

    solved with down setting of fog from high to normal. Now stable, no crash.

    Hope it will help.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #15
    Yep, that appears to be part of the new "NVIDIA Driver Manager" preference pane. You can enable ECC on the Quadro K5000, automatically check for updates, and switch between the NVIDIA driver and the stock Apple driver. Pretty neat stuff!
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #16
    Doesn't help. The crashes happen regardless of video settings.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #17
    Aspyr have responded to my Civ 5 support query and it's pretty much what I expected:

    Aspyr Technical Support, May 15 03:50 pm (CDT):
    Unfortunately, at this time, the 680 is not supported so we are unable to run a proper test case with that card.
    Thank you.
    Aspyr Support

    Calvindavidson, May 15 03:55 pm (CDT):
    When do you expect to support it?

    Aspyr Technical Support, May 15 04:01 pm (CDT):
    We will not be updating the game again until the release of the Brave New World expansion pack due out sometime this summer.
    Thank you.
    Aspyr Support

    Calvindavidson, May 15 04:04 pm (CDT):
    Will you be supporting the GTX 680 with that update?

    Aspyr Technical Support, May 15 04:38 pm (CDT):
    Currently, the 680MX equipped on the latest iMac models is supported. Since the drivers are different with the GTX 680 utilizes different drivers, there is a chance that performance will differ. However, we will be looking into implementing support for GTX 680 in future updates.
    Thank you.
    Aspyr Support​

    Guess I'll be playing Civ in Windows from now on.
     
  18. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    Not supporting the GTX680 is a valid excuse, but it doesn't explain the crashes you had with the Apple branded 5870.

    Unless they don't support Apple cards either. :p
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
    deleted
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #20
    I think this is telling, from both your crash logs:

    That seems awfully high for a 32-bit process. Looks like the game is simply running out of memory and crashing, though the place at which the crash happens varies depending on who's unlucky enough to have malloc() fail. Hopefully Aspyr will fix it soon.
     
  21. Tesselator, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2013

    macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #21
    What I think is even more funny than NVidia supplying people with corrupt or misnamed driver downloads is that when you go to that site it suggests signing up for OS X driver news and updates via newsletter:

    [​IMG]



    but when you actually go there to sign up OS X is not an option for OS selections:

    [​IMG]



    Hmm, maybe it's NVidia who's having the real laugh. :(
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #22
    In regards to Civ 5, I think it's much more G&K the culprit. I was having systematic crashes on turn 25 for a while, no matter what the game options were, even though I had almost zero crashes on the vanilla version since it was released. I totally removed the game and reinstalled through Steam and now crashes are more sporadic, but I quick save frequently !! Looking at forums it seems there are bugs on both Mac and Windows versions of G&K.
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #23
    My crashes only started relatively recently, around the time Aspyr released the last patch. Unfortunately, Apple released 10.8.3 at the same time, so it's difficult to pin down the culprit. The original G&K and the fall patch under 10.8.2 were both stable for me.

    I've had no crashes in Windows at all, either, although I'm only playing there due to the Mac version's bugginess. It is nice to be able to max-out all the graphics options no matter what size map I'm on. I could get used to that sort of stability.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #24
    CUDA-Z (0.7.184) shows that my driver version is 304.10 (8.10.44 304.10.65f03). Is there any other way to check the NVIDIA driver version?

    NVIDIA Driver Manager says that I am using the NVIDIA Web Driver, and drivers are up to date (313.01.01f03).

    Where is the problem, why CUDA-Z shows 304.10?
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #25
    It's probably only looking at the version of the stock Apple driver (e.g. GeForceGLDriver.bundle) while the new NVIDIA web driver has a different name (GeForceGLDriverWeb.bundle) so that they can both be installed at the same time. Hopefully the CUDA-Z people will update their app to fix this.

    ----------

    For what it's worth, the "Download" button is now giving me the .pkg file as expected. Looks like they fixed that last night.
     

Share This Page