Quake 4 Demo

Discussion in 'Games' started by slooksterPSV, Aug 5, 2006.

  1. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #1
    I didn't know Quake 4 Demo was out. So I'm downloading it right now and I'm going to try it on my iBook. =P yes here are my specs:

    1.33GHz - Req. 1.67GHz
    1GB - Req. 512MB
    32MB VRAM - Req. 64MB (128 Recommended)

    Remember I played Doom 3 on my iBook and thought it ran well, let's see how Quake 4 handles ( it may take an hour or two before I post again, its a big slow download ).

    EDIT: Make that 4 - 6 hours
     
  2. grabberslasher macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #2
    I used have it on my 1.5GHz 17" PowerBook. It ran ok but jittery at 1024x768 on medium/low settings. Your vram might be a problem, but tell us how it goes (screenshot if possible too with com_drawFPS 1). It's beautifully smooth on my new MacBook Pro though.
     
  3. slooksterPSV thread starter macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
  4. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #5
    [Edit] Woops beat me to it
    Doh 12kb a second : [
     
  5. slooksterPSV thread starter macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #6
    Bon Echo crashed when I dl'ed 200MB so I have a bit torrent trying to dl it and Safari trying to dl it.
     
  6. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I gave up, it was over 12 hours and wasn't moving
     
  7. slackersonly macrumors 6502a

    slackersonly

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #8
    only 15 hours to go. i am going to set my alarm right now yo get up at 5am on a Sunday.....:p
     
  8. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #9
  9. slooksterPSV thread starter macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #10
    Uh.. that links to the update, not the demo.
     
  10. slooksterPSV thread starter macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #12
    The results are in:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Oh damn, doesn't look like it runs very smooth for you : [
     
  12. slooksterPSV thread starter macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #14
    But it runs, which is what I wanted to find out. Heck I'd play it like that, same with Doom 3 (unless you had a masses of enemies, then I wouldn't lol). But I use my hardware to the extent I can take it. Hmm... should I overclock processor and video? lol jk
     
  13. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #15
    The download is just rediculous. I tried again and it was even slower!
    There's no way I'm waiting 12 hours for a 500mb file.

    Too bad, it looks fun, maybe I'll just buy the full game
     
  14. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #16
    12 hours?! I've already been running it for about 4 hours and there's still 15 to go...:(
     
  15. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Yeah I might have actualy under estimated!

    Why is it so crappy? Is everyone downloading it or something?
     
  16. Shadowspirit6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #18
    does this demo include Internet Play, like how it does with the PC demo?
     
  17. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #19
    heh... look at this speed.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #20
    Whoa...
    We only just (like 3 months ago) upgraded to 512 from dialup. WTF kind of connection is that? That's F. Awesome!

    I WAS happy (until now) with about 50, which is what I usually get now.
     
  19. X-Morgan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #21
    This is a pain in the neck, I've installed the demo, but I cant get it to run in widescreen, the highest it will go is 1280 in standard aspect ration 4:3, is there any console commands I should know trying to get this to run at 1680x1050?

    Any help? It's bloody aweful to see about 1/4 of my screen completly blank :mad:
     
  20. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #22
    Other one is good for me too.

    UPDATE: Easily playable on iMac G5. At Low Quality 800x600, it runs at 20 - 30fps during heavy combat.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4mb.jpg
      4mb.jpg
      File size:
      35 KB
      Views:
      437
  21. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
  22. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #24
    To the previous question, I am on a 3.5Mbit/sec connection, which usually downloads at ~410 provided the server lets it.

    I am running Quake 4 on an Intel iMac 2.0Ghz with 128MB RAM and 1GB RAM and it runs friggen sweet. I have it on high res and high quality settings (minus the AA and VSync) and it runs very nice.
     
  23. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #25
    Is the demo incredibly short - ending with the AA gun thingy?
     

Share This Page