Quake 4 frame rates on MBP

Discussion in 'Games' started by Gee, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi there

    Just downloaded the Quake 4 demo, and I'm getting some disappointing frame rates on my mac book pro (2.16 ghz, 256mb x1600 video card, 2 gb ram) - on the lowest resolution, 800x600, I get an average of 15 fps, dropping to single digits sometimes and maxing at low 20s occassionally. On higher resolutions it's worse.

    Is this normal? With the specs on my machine, I was kinda expecting silky smooth throughout, even on the higher settings. Anybody else found the same.

    (On a related note, I thought it looked better yesterday than today, which is why I tried to measure the fps...)
     
  2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
  3. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    The mac version. No windblows here.
     
  4. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #4
    Im not sure if this effects the demo but I think the Mac version was just patched? any help here?
     
  5. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #5
    Hmm are you sure the Quake 4 demo is a universal binary? I think it is but just to be sure..

    I know that with my MBP (same as you, only 1256mb RAM though) I can play Quake 4 in Windows XP at 1440x900, high settings, all advanced options on and no AA or AF so I don't think the Mac version should perform that worse.
     
  6. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    I don't think the patch works with the demo. I tried downloading it anyway, but it was downloading at like 15kb a sec for a 600 mb file so I gave up.
     
  7. mdntcallr macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    i don't think the demo is same as current version.

    you would be better off checking with current performance levels elsewhere.

    i think it should perform better. also, make sure your system is on full performance mode. not partially disabled for battery use.
     
  8. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Apparently yes it's universal. The game isn't <i>completely</i> unplayable, I'm just a bit disappointed.
     
  9. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Running off the mains, so full performance is on.

    Does anyone esle have a similar mac and a copy of the demo?
     
  10. 2ndPath macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #11
    I think Quake 4 was released as a universal binary and later on there was a patch to optimize it for dual-core cpus. I played the original and patched version on my MBP and both of them were running nicely. Don't ask for frame rates, but the resolution was something like 1024 odr 1280xsomething (widescreen), I think I had a high but not the highest graphics detail level and no antialiasing. As I said, I don't know the framerates, but I think it was definitely more than your 15.
     
  11. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    Hmmm. Thanks for the insight. Maybe there's something up with my graphics card?
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #13
    Quake 4 with the patch to add dual-core support runs great on my MacBook Pro. :eek: :)
     
  13. mdntcallr macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    very cool. i just ordered the new MBP with 2gb ram. psyched to see games on it.
     
  14. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #15

    Should perform quite well for you mdntcallr, congrats. :)
     
  15. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    Could you do a frame rate test for me?
     
  16. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #17

    If I remember, I will do so later on today. I am at college right now and will only be getting home at around 6 tonight. :)
     
  17. Gee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Cool, cheers
     
  18. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #19
    Well, I just got done playing a little Quake 4 on my MacBook Pro:

    High Quality
    1024x768
    High FPS: 60 rarely, usually when looking in a corner.
    Low FPS: 15
    Average: would be around 22 fps.

    Medium Quality
    1024x768
    High FPS: 60, same situation as before.
    Low FPS: 18
    Average: Would be about 25-28 fps.


    Hope this helped. :)
     
  19. sysiphus macrumors 6502a

    sysiphus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #20
    Interesting that the framerates are that low...I used to get way better than that on a dual 1.8ghz G5 w/768mb RAM and a 6800GT...must be the MBP's graphics card underclocking at work.
     
  20. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #21

    The video card in your Power Mac G5 probably was the reason for the speed boost. I know that my 2.3GHz DP Power Mac G5, 2.25GB RAM, and ATI Radeon 9800XT w/ 256MB VRAM performed better than my MBP. :eek: :)
     
  21. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #22
    I just ran the demo and the game has some good graphics. I have been playing WoW for so long I forgot what next gen graphics look like haha.
     
  22. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #23

    The graphics in Quake 4 are quite good. Makes me wonder what kind of graphics will be in games a couple of years down the road. No doubt beyond drool-worthy. :D :)
     

Share This Page