Quake III Arena update crashes Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wowser, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. wowser macrumors 6502a

    wowser

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Inglaterra, Europa
    #1
    I bought a copy of Quake III Arena on eBay. It runs well in Classic, but i had heard about the upgrade for OS X. I unzipped the contents of the downloaded update, and ran the installation. I put the new update folder 'Quake3' in my App folder, as the original game folder 'quake3' was in my Games folder as it had the same name. (sorry if this is too much info) Anyway, i ran the 'Quake OS X' program from the new folder; it asked me to associate the update with the original game file, which i did. Anyway, every time i run any exe program in the new update folder (like the main Quake 3 OS X app) it shows runs the program - the ID Software logo pops up, then the screen goes black, but then the screen turns white; shifts to a low resolution and there is a mouse pointer on screen. It hangs on this screen and nothing , besides pressing the power switch on my eMac will get me out of the screen (every key just makes bleeping sounds)

    So, if you had the patience to read that - what went wrong?

    by the way - i have tried unistalling the update and running it again - same thing happens
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I started with the Windows version, rather than the OS 9 version, so the steps may be slightly different, but here's what I did:

    - started off with nothing installed
    - installed the OS X update (1.32 I think)
    - copied the .pk3 files across from the Quake CD

    I didn't use the original installer or application files on the original CD at all, only the .pk3 files.
     
  3. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #3
    ya it messes up alot when you have a previous version on...for example. when i bought UT2004 i had the demo first. it crashed everytime, cause of the demo still being there in the application folder. so try deleting os 9s version.
     
  4. deadfrog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Location:
    UK / Bournemouth
    #4
    only thing i can recomend, is make sure the actual game folder is inside the quake 3 for osx folder in apps... then move the PAK0.PK3 from the baseq3 folder of the game into the updates baseq3 folder....

    hope that makes sense and helps.
     
  5. wowser thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wowser

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Inglaterra, Europa
    #5
    thanks guys - i'll try all i'll try all of these things and see how it goes :)
     
  6. wowser thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wowser

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Inglaterra, Europa
    #6
    thanks - i am now enjoying the improved OS X version
     

Share This Page