Quake III Arena

Discussion in 'Games' started by Patmian212, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    OK I know this is an old game but i have a question...When I click on multiplayer it take me to this place with a list of all the matches going on...Is there any feature like battlenet where you can just chat?
    IMHO ITS SOO FUN FRAGGIN PEOPLE
     
  2. Ninja_Turtle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Fullerton, California
    #2
    party


    chatting with people instead of fragging on quake3 arena is just for n00bs :p

    use gameranger if you wanna talk...
     
  3. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    I think it would be cool to have a battlenet-ish setup...Whats gameranger?
     
  4. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Also the game is running on a PEECEE(the one in my sig),
     
  5. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
  6. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #6
    Um, yeah, I play Q3A. :D

    To chat in Q3A you need to pick a game to join in the multiplayer area. Then, once you've joined a game, chat with the people. Just don't be surprised if you get booted for non-activity.

    I miss all the Excessive maps. There used to be some great CTF games there! Once you knew all the angles to shoot the BFG10K, you were unstoppable. :) Ahh, memories...
     
  7. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Oh ok i get it :)... Listen another thing... I just got the game and when I go online I almost instantly get killed all these players are always jumping whil shooting and stuff and I ALWAYS DIE...Any tips for a noobie?
     
  8. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
  9. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #9
    get really good in single player before jumping online??
     
  10. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #10
    Absolutely. I've been playing since 99? and got to the point that I can beat every level in Nightmare (except for the last level), and yet I can STILL get worked in multiplayer sometimes. As good as you get, there will always be someone out there better than you.

    P.S. What I miss even more are the days of dink.cfg!!
     
  11. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    Also another question... Why when I play online the other players are always jumping all the time... I try that technique and I always get confused which way im facing and I cant really aim.
     
  12. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #12
    Jumping will sometimes give you better speed, and it's not as easy to hit them (sometimes :) ).

    You have to really just get it down to a science and practice a lot, moving the mouse just enough to counter the difference of a jump when you're aiming at someone.
     

Share This Page