Quark 6 and Panther

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by scottkleinberg, Oct 23, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #1
    Hi, everyone. First post.

    I have been so worried about the compatibility between Quark 6 and Panther. I'm buying Panther tomorrow night regardless, but as someone who has had serious issues with Quark -- i.e. losing activation due to upgrading to 10.2.8, I'm naturally very concerned.

    Has/can anyone tested Panther and quark upon upgrading from jaguar? Any issues?

    Anyone who can help -- i'd appreciate it so very much.

    Thank you
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #2
    What do you mean by losing activation? I have not bothered with Quark 6 because the hick town I live in will never get off Quark 4.0.1! I wanted it so bad to use with OS X, but then realized that I wouldn't be able to save documents as version 4. Nobody around here can open them. Nobody here will touch Quark 5 either. One business did, but then trashed it because it had to many issues with proprietary extensions. Anyway, I was just wondering what you meant by losing activation. You just can't re-install?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #3
    Nope. You can't just reinstall. If you "lose" your activation by doing what Quark calls a software upgrade, hardware upgrade, etc., you "lose activation" and that means you have to go through a process with them that takes either weeks or costs money per issue. It's horrific.
     
  4. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #4
    I had Q6 fail to start in Panther, but I thought that was probably due to the system being on an external drive and none of the installer code being with the system. That, and it was a beta OS at the time... so I didn't think too much of it. I don't know about that.

    BTW - printers in this town are slow to upgrade as well - anyone with a good solution to work in Q6 and get offset printing done, without moving to a .pdf workflow?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    e-coli

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    #5
    You can't be serious, are you?? I would never go through that crap for such a miserable piece of software. What a load. :rolleyes:

    When will people learn and switch to InDesign?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #6
    They would have been better off with a dongle system then. That's really ruff. So you're saying that if my HD crapped the bed, I couldn't just put in a new one and reinstall Quark. Man that bites. Somebody would have to be sent home without pay for however long that took to resolve.

    Off topic: How does Quark 6 behave with rips?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #7
    I wish we would. Can never do it though. Our classified, Ads, TVDATA, all require extensions that probably will never be updated to Quark 6. The Adobe InDesign counterparts will never be developed. I can't even get a new office chair. I am also stuck on OS 8.1, so this push into the OS X modern world is a mere pipe dream. I'm SOL I guess.
     
  8. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #8
    8.1? This is where you work? You know, there's such thing as striking... :) Sounds like time to have a sit-down with the higher-ups and say "this is not acceptable anymore."
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #9
    Except we were bought out and there is only 3 of us in our department. No union. No striking. Just terminating. They think when you complain, that you are not being a team player! Two macs have OS 9.1, the others are all 8.1, 8.5, or 8.6. I would find another job, but there isn't anything around with the same amount of pay. Other than the crap old school OS - I actually enjoy work most of the time. It would be mega fun on OS X though. Going from my home mac to my work mac it total murder.

    ON TOPIC: Will Panther get rid of the employees I despise, if I login through VPN?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #10
    Absolutely serious, I'm afraid. I read about it before getting it and didn't believe it, but it's true. First off, the reason I don't use inDesign is because my employer uses Quark. To do anything at home, I need the same software. Sad, but true. I tried to get them to switch to InDesign, but I lost.

    Anyhow, I first found out the whole installation issue when I had a file that crashed. I guess the app became damaged and the icon turned into a folder. I couldn't relaunch. Had no choice but to reinstall. And when I did, I was given a message saying that my activation limit has been exceeded -- It was the first time I ever had to reinstall software -- period. And I had to call tech support in India and wait 55 minutes to finally get a new code. but I was told if it happens again I will have to pay for the service -- $39 a pop. And it can take up to 4 weeks to receive the new number.

    And this activation issue I'm told can/will happen upon upgrading of software or hardware -- whether it be a new drive or machine. It's very, very sad. This is why I'm hoping someone out there has Panther and has been able to upgrade from Jaguar to tell me what happened. I asked quark but heard nothing.
     
  11. zim
    macrumors 65816

    zim

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    #11
    I was reading about this fix for Quark, it is called inDesign, hehe... sorry to go off topic.. inDesign CS is incrediable, we had it demoed at school last week. As for Quark, I have not heard of any issues from the few developers that I know.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Montreal
    #12
    Quark 6 continued to work as usual after I upgraded to panther. According to my wife. I prefer Indesign...
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #13
    delta, hex:

    You are the first person that has actually been able to answer my question ... you did an archive and install from jag to panther? Is that correct? And you had no problems launching it, using it, etc???

    I'm excited if this is what you are saying.

    thanks.
     
  14. PaulP, Oct 23, 2003
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #15
    To all of you that had no problems, I'm happy. But of course, I can't use Quark. Moment I launched it, I got this error ... The activation file in this version of QuarkXpress has been damaged. Please reinstall QuarkXpress."

    I'm going to use Quark 5 while I wait for the folks in India to get me up and running in about 3 weeks. Yeah, that's how long it takes. And I'm reading a book on InDesign, which I ordered. I'm done with Quark and it will be my goal to get the people at my company who rely on Quark to not rely on it.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #16
    Good luck.
     
  17. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #17
    Did you repair permissions from Disk Utility?

    It should be standard procedure after installing anything.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    Quark 6 and Panther

    I have upgraded to Panther with the three discs from Apple, from OS 10.2.8 and I got a different message when trying to open Quark Express 6.0 for the first time:

    This version of QuarkXPress is no longer valid. Contact Quark for assistance. [1]

    I found the Quark page

    http://www.quark.com/products/xpress/tech_info/technical_bulletin_mac.html

    and tried to

    Delete the Quark folder from the Mac OS X v10.2 /Library/Preferences folder.

    Run the “QuarkXPress Component” installer, located in the “For System” folder in the “QuarkXPress 6.0” folder.

    but it didn't work.

    Is Adobe INDESIGN much the same as Quark ? I already use PhotoShop and Illustrator so maybe I should get the software that will integrate with them?

    Bit of a nuisance 'cos Quark is used by so many bureaus etc.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    at the edge
    #20
    Hi all. I successfully performed a clean installation of Panther without having to reactivate Quark 6.

    I was having kernel panics in Jaguar a couple months ago, and after I did an archive and reintallation of Jaguar, the next time I opened Quark I got a message telling me that my activation was corrupted and I would need to reinstall. So I did and then it told me I needed to reactivate my copy of Quark. But when I attempted to activate online, I was told I had too many hardware activations.
    When I called Quark, the barely audible Indian operator told me my serial number wasn't even on record. WTF!?!?!?! Emailing them the reactivation form got no response the first time. A week later, I sent a much angrier email with my reactivation form and got a response within a day.

    But. I decided I wasn't going to go through that BS again, even though I knew I would need to do a clean install of Panther when I upgraded as a way of cutting ties with Jaguar which was still having kernel panics.

    So this time I copied every QuarkXPress file on my whole boot drive. I searched for files with just quark, xpress, qxp, and whatever else I could think of. I made a record of where every file went. After I did the clean installation of Panther, I just put all those files back in the folders they came from. I created the folders if they didn't exist. And Quark has been running fine ever since, with no activation prompt coming up.

    Needless to say, I am keeping a backup of this bundle of QuarkXPress files in case anything happens again. I sure as hell am not dealing with Quark support again.

    (Oh, and and so far no kernel panics in Panther. ;) )
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #21
    I'd contact Quark first, but I wouldn't expect a quick answer. We've been waiting 3 weeks so far for some of our validation codes.

    Iv'e been using Indesign for approx 2 years on OS X and have had no problems.

    The UI is more similar to Adobe's products than Quark, but it doesn't take long to learn. It does have more print design features than Quark and it can open Quark 4 documents, though the translation process is not quick, and the text composition engine is different to Quark's so your text will flow differently. (But I also think Indesign's text composition engine is far better.)

    As for bueau's, I have relied on the export pdf feature in Indesign, which is flawless, and saves a lot of time preparing a job for plate-making. This has allowed me to send print jobs anywhere in the world, and as long as the printer/bureau has a Postscript 3 compatible RIP, there are no problems getting great plates from the job file. (Spot colours inclusive.)
     

Share This Page