QuarkXPress / PowerBook advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by AdmittedPCuser, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. AdmittedPCuser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #1
    Does anybody have any experience running QuarkXPress (pref v6) on a PowerBook with a 1.33GHz G4? I'm planning on buying a PowerBook later this month (once iLife '05 is released with the hope of the minor hardware upgrades) and I just wanted to get some opinions. I'm also gonna be doing a bit of Photoshop and Illustrator work (basically the PowerBook will be used for desktop publishing) and from what I've read, a 1.33 G4 with enough ram (768mb?) should be fine.

    Anyone running this config?

    Thanks in advance,

    Recovering Dellaholic
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Unless you run Quark 5 in Classic :eek: you will have no choice but to run ver 6.x on your Powerbook... I would up the RAM to at least 1gb, 1.5 ideally...

    We have a spare 733mhz G4 (for temps) running it at work and that is OK, not brilliant but acceptable.

    I wouldn't recommend using 6.5's QuarkVista Xtension on it... but then it's complete rubbish anyway... the new PS import filter has been released but we haven't bothered. If I want to import a layered file (rare), then I can use a layered TIFF anyway...

    You may find you can improve the performance of it by adjusting the image display preferences within Quark, forgoing the 32bit preview and going for 8 or 16 bit instead. There are a few other options for speeding up the redraw...

    Also, remember that Quark 6 needs activating so that it either must be your own copy or the 2nd licence of someone elses... (2 installations possible) Otherwise, it will revert to demo mode within a short space of time.

    One of the beauties of the old Quark (4 & 3.x) was the ability to run it on virtually anything but not so now...
     
  3. AdmittedPCuser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #3
    thanks for the info Blue... good tip regarding the display preferences, I wasn't aware of that.
     
  4. krisjon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    I run this exact setup (along with heavy photoshop/illustrator) with 1.5 gig RAM and it works just fine, although Quark as a program is still buggy. The updates have only done so much and I still run into the occasional error, but then again, the last really stable version of Quark was 3.32...I'm used to it.

    I also run InDesign and have been using it more and more. The only time I use Quark now is if a printing house or publication I'm working with only accepts Quark files. It's taken a few years, but InDesign really outshines Quark in every way. Something to consider unless you have to have Quark.

    Anyway, like it was said before, just throw at least a gig of RAM in your machine and you'll be fine.
     
  5. AdmittedPCuser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #5
    Thanks for the info... So it sounds like the recommendation here is to get at least a gig of ram. Probably good advice.

    Interesting to hear about InDesign. I've had the chance to play around with it a few times and I'm always hearing good things. I guess the integration with PS and Illus is a benefit as well. I may have to seriously look into it.

    Thanks again for the feedback.
     

Share This Page