Question about bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by davidtbaron, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #1
    ok i want to know if there is an option or a hack that when i turn on my imac it will always show boot menu then i can choose mac or windows.

    Without always having to hold down the option key?

    Any Help Much Appreciated
     
  2. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    You can achieve what you want by installing a third party boot loader like rEFIt (http://refit.sf.net).

    B
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #3
    Yeah i saw that but i was hoping you could change something in the bootcamp
    to do this without 3rd party software. Like a command line hack or some thing
     
  4. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Unfortunately, no.

    B
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #5
    oh well i guess i will stick to the option key thanks for the reply :)
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #6
    Not exactly what you're looking for, but you can change the bootcamp options to boot to Windows by default so you don't need to use the bootloader unless you want to boot into mac os.
     
  7. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    And you can use BootChamp http://www.kainjow.com/ and the Boot Camp System Tray icon to simplify a manually reboot into the other OS if you know in advance.

    B
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #8
    Set up an Open Firmware password using your original install disk and select a password that's short, since all you really want to do is arrive at the disk-selection window.

    This keeps you from having to be around to monitor your start-up chime, but only gets you part way to where you want to be since you will still be forced to have some input into getting to the disk screen.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #9
    Here's what you need:

    From Terminal,

    sudo nvram boot-command="multi-boot"

    to change it back:

    From Terminal,

    sudo nvram boot-command="mac-boot"
     
  10. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #11
  12. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    The Intel boxes don't use OpenFirmware so many of the things that worked on PPC systems just won't on Intel/EFI boxes.

    I always forget about Bootpicker, but it is roughly in the same category as rEFIt (third party utility) and rEFIt is generally more flexible.

    B
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #13
    Nope, didn't work on my MacPro. I'll read up on the links you provided.

    There's always bootpicker or fiddling with my original post regarding the firmware password. It seems that to get to the disk screen without automatically booting to the blessed system folder, one needs to change an option, but I can't seem to make it work. Here are the options for the firmware password:

    sudo nvram security-mode="none" // no firmware password
    sudo nvram security-mode="command" // standard password mode
    sudo nvram security-mode="full" // no booting until typing in password

    nvram -p // print screen for settings

    I'm not able to make the "full" mode stick. Any suggestions?
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #14
    rEFIt looks interesting. I think I'll give it a try. Thanks!
     

Share This Page