Question about Core 2 Duo Chipset?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rayray1017, Sep 21, 2006.

  1. rayray1017 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, Houston
    #1
    Hello,
    I was wondering if it would be possible to swap out the the processor on my 2.0 core duo with the new core 2 duo chips?
     
  2. apachie2k macrumors 6502

    apachie2k

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    was NYC...now MIAMI
  3. rayray1017 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, Houston
    #3
    oh i'm sorry. I have the original intel iMac with a 2.0 core duo proc.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    The current retail prices for Merom chips make it quite unlikely that you'll want to do this.

    The T7200 2.0 GHz part is retailing around $325
    The T7400 2.16 GHz part is retailing around $475
    The T7600 2.33 GHz part is retailing around $700

    At that rate, you'd probably be better off selling the old Mac and buying a new one with the CPU you want.

    Note you cannot use the EXXXX Conroe chips, and the process of disassembly isn't for the inexperienced.

    B
     
  5. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #5
    Just wondering why are you thinking about doing that?

    Owning a Mac is not about having the fastest and greatest, in fact for most of history owning a Mac = having a slower computer. It is all about the experience of using MacOS!
     
  6. rayray1017 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, Houston
    #6
    i've owned macs since '85, but i was just curious if the newer chipsets would be compatible with the old intel iMac's logic board. I might do it in a couple years just for fun.
     
  7. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    "Just wondering why are you thinking about doing that?

    Owning a Mac is not about having the fastest and greatest, in fact for most of history owning a Mac = having a slower computer. It is all about the experience of using MacOS!"

    thats not really true, apple has a history of releasing (or at least claiming) the worlds fastest desktops. and if you do 3d animation like me or video etc, YES it very much is about having a powerful computer.

    and knowing whether you can upgrade the cpu could be handy to know for the future when chips come down in price.
     
  8. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #8
    To answer your question, it is possible by just swapping out the chips.

    I'm planning on doing it with my Mini when the C2D chips drop in price a bit.

    ;)
     

Share This Page