question about defragging

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Loft, Dec 16, 2004.

1. Loft macrumors newbie

Oct 17, 2004
    i'm a mac newbie and i just want to ask you guys if we need to defrag out macs. i'm not even sure if there's a disk defragment mode so please enlighten me. if there is a need to defrag, please give me a step by step process on how to do it. thank you.
  2. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

Jun 21, 2004
    ct, us
  3. Sharewaredemon macrumors 68000

May 31, 2004
    Cape Breton Island
    A little bit more specifically, the reason you do not need to defrag is because OS X defrags on the fly! It's great not to have to worry about that.
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

Jul 17, 2002
    Actually, from what I understand of MacOS X and the physical layout of data on Mac hard drives, running defrag software can hurt. IIRC, people running Norton Speed Disk on MacOS X have reported problems. Let me put my $0.02 in about defragging. It is a Wintel solution to a Wintel problem. Being the worry-wort that I am, I periodically defragged my own Mac prior to MacOS X. I have never seen anything better than marginal improvement in the performance of my Macs. When I accepted my current position, I inherited a Mac-using secretary who never performed maintenance of any kind on her computer. I loaded Norton, ran through the utilities including Speed Disk. I saw no noticeable improvement. When I converted my Macs' hard disks from HFS to HFS+, the conversion left them in a most fragmented state. I ran Speed Disk--or was it TechTools Pro. At any rate, I saw no noticeable improvement after defragging. Even though I used it, I had become convinced that defragging was a waste of time. However, when I run Defrag on my Windows computer, the improvement in performance was dramatic. A computer whose performance had dropped to the point were it was barely useable was now performing as it should.