Question about Desktop Aspect Ratio

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pav, Feb 10, 2007.

1. pav macrumors newbie

Greetings

I am brand new to these forums as of today. I have always used/built windows based machines but recently I have been looking at the mac pro.

I am a muscian and am interested in putting together a little recording studio in my music room. While some of my co-workers ( i'm a network engineer at a major ISP ) use windows to record music I thought it might be a good idea to go with the industry standard.

Anyway

I don't know much about Macs at all. I notice that they come with monitors that have a 16:9 aspect ratio.

My question is will a mac pro utilize the full 16:9 aspect ratio, or will it stretch the desktop to fit?

I know that my current Window XP machine stretches the desktop much to my chagrin, making my new dell widescreen monitor useless.

Any help is much appreciated.

2. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

If you're getting a Mac Pro, it doesn't come with a monitor at all. Use whatever one you want. And no, the desktop will never be stretched; just choose an appropriate resolution. (Just to be nitpicky, iMacs actually have a 16:10 ratio monitor.)

--Eric

3. pav thread starter macrumors newbie

Eric-

Thanks for the reply. I am aware that the Mac Pro does not come with a monitor, but I will definately be purchasing an apple monitor with my mac pro. I feel like Apple displays are the best in the industry.

My question was do I have the ability to set the aspect ratio to 16:9 ( or 16:10 whatever the case may be ).

Thanks for the info!

For some reason I was unable to find this information anywhere.

4. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

dornoforpyros

You should have no problems with stretching no matter which monitor you select. I'd imagine your problem on your windows box has to do with your resolution settings more than anything as there's no reason for being stuck with stretched video.

5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan