Question about fast user switching...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nospleen, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I was watching the keynote and I noticed that Steve switched between profiles without entering a password? I did not know that this was possible. I searched all around in system preferences, but I could not find a way to do it. I hate having to enter my password all the time after my wife logs in. Does anyone know how to do this?
     
  2. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    You have to remove the password on your account. That's the only way of doing it.
     
  3. nospleen thread starter macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
  4. nospleen thread starter macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Nevermind, figured it out. Scccchhhhwweeeeeeeeeeeeeet...:D
     
  5. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #5
    Just go into system prefs > accounts. There will be an option to change password. Put in your old password, then leave the new password blank = password removed.
     
  6. howesey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
  7. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #7
    Remember that this also applies at the initial login screen, so anyone with access to the computer can log in to your account.

    If this isn't a problem, then no worries, but if you have personal files & folders, you may want to consider encrypting these separately (using FileVault, or password protected disk images)
     
  8. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #8
    This is why I have a password - to keep my family away from my account, I just know they'd break everything and change all my settings grrrr. I was kind enough to set up a guest account for them though.
     
  9. nospleen thread starter macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I really don't have much of a need for a password. I would leave it on if I owned a portable. Speaking of portables, I want a MacBook Pro...:eek:
     
  10. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #10
    Well that's fine then. I wouldn't have one if it wasn't for the family (that's really mean in a way :eek: ).
     
  11. nospleen thread starter macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Not really, I know what you mean. My kids are 2 and 3 and my mac is in an armoire. But, in a few years, I am sure they will open the armoire and goof around on the mac. Then, I will definitely add the password back. :D
     
  12. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #12
    Those parental controls might actually come in handy.
     
  13. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #13
    i was playing around with a new account and setting it up and its amazing how much parental control u have. and each account has its own disk space.

    XP is so crap compared. they either get limited where u cant do crap or u get admin and they can do as they please.

    <3's OSX
     

Share This Page