Question about how a couple of games run on MBP's

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by graln1k, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. graln1k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #1
    I have a core 2 duo 17" MBP and was wondering what some of your experiences have been like running Supreme Commander and Company of Heroes under boot camp.
     
  2. GraceMolloy macrumors regular

    GraceMolloy

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    While I haven't personally played either of them, nearly everything else runs Brilliantly on mine. I play C&C, WoW, BF2, FEAR, etc. I doubt you will have any problems.
     
  3. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #3
    Yeah I haven't played either of those games but I can telll you the MacBook Pro is amazing with gaming on Bootcamp. I installed Windows (scary experience) and all my games work under the highest settings (Halo, Max Payne 2, Rainbow Six).
     
  4. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  5. graln1k thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #5
    I would say so.
     
  6. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    Then maybe you will be better served with a Macbook + PC combo.

    The Macbook Pro isn't fantastic for games, I own a 15" with the 256mb GPU and it chokes on Civilization IV (The Aspyr port) on medium graphics settings. I play Guild Wars via Boot Camp on high and frequently experience graphic lags, to the point that I just get rid of boot camp altogether and gave up on games.

    Macs are macs.

    If you are not prepared to give up on your recreational software perhaps it is time to reconsider the platform of your choosing?
     
  7. greenmeanie macrumors 6502a

    greenmeanie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    I ran COD2 with all the extras and full res no problems.
    My wifes go7600 in her HP 9000 couldn't handle full res.
     
  8. GraceMolloy macrumors regular

    GraceMolloy

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    Not sure what iW00t was doing, but I've never had any of those issues.
     
  9. Blubbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #9
    Aspyr has horrible ports. They are all extemely buggy and slow, as proof, i submit their port of KOTOR, which was laggy beyond belief. MacSoft ports are the better ones, as they will play great even under Rosetta.
     
  10. graln1k thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #10
    Well, I tried the Company of Heroes demo and ran the performance test in the video options after turning the graphics down and such. It averaged like 29 fps and looked pretty terrible. I then ran the same test on my pc and averaged 35 fps with many settings on. My PC has an older processor, half the ram, and a x850xt video card.

    Shouldn't my 17" MBP C2D be able to outdo it? Are the outdated drivers the issue?
     
  11. Chris14 macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #11
    which game for me

    Should i buy Supreme Commander or C&C 3?
    I can't decide!
     
  12. amoda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #12
    Wow i'm pretty shocked. I'm not sure what exactly is causing the problem since i don't play that game. I do however play AoE3, WoW, Civ4, StarCraft and all of them (other than SC obviously) are graphic intensive and play in med-high settings with no lag. I have a CD 1.83 MBP so i'm shocked that your more powerful 17" is performing so poorly. I'll run the demo on mine and try and see if i can get it working properly. You're using the latest version of bootcamp right?
     
  13. screensaver400 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #13
    I played Company of Heroes a few months ago with no issues, but I don't remember where I had the settings at.
     
  14. macjonny1 macrumors 6502a

    macjonny1

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #14
    How do you have time to play anything but WoW?!?!?!?!
     
  15. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #15
    COH runs at a playable fps...not great, but not bad either.

    Rainbow Six Vegas runs pretty good too, but everything set to low and at 800x600 res.

    WoW isnt graphics intensive at all...32 mb Geforce 2 minimum. haha what a joke..graphics intensive.
     
  16. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #16
    No. The X850XT is quite a beefy graphics card. Try taking it out and having a look at it... computers may advance quickly, but they can't squeeze something that size into a MBP just yet ;)

    Basically no, the MBP shouldn't be able to out-do it.
     

Share This Page