question about intel imac on apple store

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by seanr, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. seanr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #1
    I see the 17 inch one does not have a video upgrade on the apple web site does that mean the 20 inch only supports 256mb video.also I see that it's like $360 canadian to get 2gb ram upgrade from apple.can you buy cheaper third party ram to save money and put it in your self if so how hard is it to do.also does any one know if the cpu in the intel iMac is upgradeable. Thanks
     
  2. MajereXYU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    #2
    Yes. Yes. No. Yes.

    - 256MB VRAM only available on 20".
    - You can and should buy 3rd party RAM and install it, then sell the original RAM.
    - It is not hard to install 3rd party RAM (2 screws on bottom and voilà!)
    - The CPU is upgradeable because it is socketed (as opposed to being soldered) but it will cost you big bucks to buy a CoreDuo that would be faster than the included 1.83Ghz in the 17" (around $500-600 CAD).

    By the way, an interrogative sentence usually ends with "?" for clarity.

    Please punctuate accordingly, as it will make your sentences much more readable. I actually had to re-read your post three times to make sure I got it right.

    No hard feelings intended.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. seanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #3
    ok so why can the 17 inch not support 256mb video?Does this mean the video in not upgradeable?What about the 512mb or 1GB video cards comeing out? it would be nice to have one of thease monsters in a imac.
     
  4. Shaker macrumors member

    Shaker

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #4
    As a general rule, Apple has restricted the upgradeability of iMacs to their RAM. The vRAM is whatever you get from Apple. IMHO, the 256 MB and the 20" screen are well worth the price (especially if you're getting an educational discount).
     
  5. seanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #5
    I can right now get the 17 inch with 2gb ram or the 20inch with video upgrade and stock ram.I should get the 20inch and upgrade the ram later right?

    no discount I will be paying full price
     
  6. godbout macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #6
    Not to steal your thread but because you asked about socketed CPUs, I was wondering if anyone knows whether Conroe will have the same pin configuration as Yonah?
     
  7. Shaker macrumors member

    Shaker

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #7
    You're right. I would pay for the VRAM upfront and you can always upgrade the RAM from Crucial.com or RAMJET.com (much cheaper than Apple for RAM) at a later date if you need it. Eventually I would say that to run Tiger and some of the Rosetta Apps, I would get atleast a total of 1GB of RAM in the future.
     

Share This Page