Question about iPhone 5 and T-Mobile

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by onthecouchagain, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    It looks unlikely that the iP5 will come to Tmobile officially, but there are reports that it may simply support the Tmobile bands allowing the phone to access Tmobile's 3G network.

    If this is true, how will it work? In theory, one could buy the iP5 unlocked from the Apple store at an unsubsidized price, then what? Simply get a SIM card from Tmo and a data plan?

    What if I'm already on an Android data plan? (Tmobile has different data plans for different phones, e.g., Blackberries get the Blackberry data plan, Androids get android data plan, etc.) Would my Android data plan simply work in the iPhone 5? Since there won't be any official "iPhone data plan".
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #2
    Your best bet if they do in fact get the iPhone in the coming weeks would be to ask T-Mobile. We don't have any information more than you do.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the suggestion. I plan to. In the mean time, it's possible someone has some better knowledge of the technicalities of how SIM cards work with iPhones. There are, after all, one million iPhone users on Tmobile currently. Perhaps someone has some more insight. It's possible no one knows either, but that's what forums are for. :]
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA.
    #4
    Current iPhone 4 on T-Mobile user here. I plan to do exactly that. Buy an unsubsidized factory unlocked iphone 5 (wife needs to upgrade her 3G, so she'll get my 4) and use my current SIM for service. I believe that T-Mobile is now selling micro SIMs that you can purchase, but if not, you can just cut your existing SIM into a micro SIM and you are set.

    The support of 3G speeds would be a nice bonus, but I'm not holding my breath.

    ----------

    As far as the data plan, you would just get a smartphone data plan from them.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #5
    I see. Interesting. Thanks.

    EDIT: Let us know how it goes btw, when the time comes!
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    I dont think the T-Mobile 3G bands will be included on the next iphone. I would imagine ATT has a say in that since in 6 months that spectrum will be used for the LTE build out. You can get an iPhone for T-Mobile but will be stuck with 2G speeds.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #7
    The federal government is actively denying AT&T from purchasing T-Mobile USA. I honestly doubt AT&T will be using T-Mobile's spectrum now.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    This is true but I would imagine the deal will go through but ATT will just have to divest part of T-Mobile as a concession.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #9
    I guess it's still possible but I would hate to see it happen. It's not good for us consumers at all.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    I agree, my T-Mobile plan is so affordable that if the iPhone carried the 3G bands, I could buy one at full price and still save money over Verizon and ATT over the course of 2 years.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #11
    Yeah, giving up the low cost bills from Tmobile (and the customer service) is difficult. I'm hoping either we get the iPhone 5 officially, or there's a way to work it out so users can still get Tmo's 3G. I cannot justify owning an iPhone stuck on 2G.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #12
    I'm in the same boat as you are. I want the iPhone 5 to be usable on T-Mobile's 3G bands (unless it supports LTE, then I'l' get it for AT&T or Verizon). I may have to buy it unlocked and unsubsidized if that's the case. But with my math I too save money over the course of the contract.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA.
    #13
    Yeah, I hear ya. But honestly, unless you do a lot of surfing outside of wi-fi areas or streaming video, EDGE really isn't that bad for doing a quick lookup or downloading email.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    vikingjunior

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #15
  16. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #16
    Yeah it looks like Tmobile won't be getting the iPhone 5 this year, as speculated.

    I wonder what this means for the 3G bands... probably not good either. =T
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    msb3079

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    collingswood. nj
    #17
    I'm not trying to be a butt... but you completely ignored what his question was.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #18
    Maye th iPhone 5 can support T-Mobile's HSPA+ 42 bands! That would definitely make it worth it to buy an unlocked iPhone 5 seeg as on campus I get full bars of HSPA service. I can dream, can't I? :rolleyes:
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #19
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #20
    So does that mean that you could possibly use an unlocked iPhone 5 and get at least 3g speeds with Tmobile? If so, if you had to guestimate how much do you think the new unlocked iPhone will cost?
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #21
    Well, the speed is nice but we still need the AWS 3G/UMTS band added.

    No... gotta wait and see if includes the AWS band.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #22
    Well since it appears Cincinnati Bell will be getting the iPhone 5, can anyone confirm CB uses 1700/2100 for their 3G (i.e., use TMo's towers)? If so, that may answer the question. Though I guess we'll all know soon enough!
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #23
    Looking at the phones on their site it appears they use both t-mobile and ATT bands so im a bit confused. Their main android devices use t-mobile bands and actually rebranded t-mobile phones. Anyone else have more reliable info?
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #24
    I would be the happiest person in the world if TMO got the iPhone....FML :eek:
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #25
    well no idea if it will support tmobiles 3g but if it did then thats good for tmobile users. too bad im switching from tmobile since its expensive and sucks
     

Share This Page