Question about New Mighty Mouse.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iShane, Jul 25, 2006.

  1. iShane macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi all,

    Okay, so I really want the new Bluetooth Mighty Mouse. But it does need bluetooth to work right? How do I know if I have bluetooth in my computer or not. Its a 1.6 GHZ iMac G5.

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    You probably won't have it, the rev A iMac G5 didn't have it built in and unless you ordered Bluetooth as a BTO option when you bought it then it won't be there.

    Go to "About this Mac" under the Apple Menu, then click the "More Info" button, it should bring up the System Profiler, in the left hand side is a list of all the hardware in your Mac, Bluetooth will be listed but if you don't have it it will just say "No Information" when you click on it.

    I don't know if the wireless MM wil work with a USB bluetooth adapter, I have a Kensington one that I just plugged in and away it went, synced with my phone etc. Not sure how it would go with the new MM though.
     
  3. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Yes you do.

    Go to the Apple Menu->about this mac->more info

    If you have bluetooth it should provide some information about the version/chipset.
     
  4. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #4
    On Rev A's, which I believe what yours is, it was B.T.O.

    On Rev. B it became standard.

    You should know whether you have BT anyway, come on, iShane!

    But, go into your Sys. Prefs, if you have a Bluetooth button - you have it. Also, try checking your menu bar, its next to AirPort, Clock etc as default.

    If not, you can buy an adapter. But there is only 1 OSX certidied one, that works with the Appl KB's and Mice, the D-Link 120 I believe its called, on the Apple store anyhoo.
     
  5. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #5
    I think to work with Apple's own Bluetooth range, you either need built-in BT, or the D-Link USB adaptor. Apple recognises it the same as the internal one, so they fully support it.

    I don't think it works with cheaper adapters from eBay etc.. at least so the Apple store says. :confused:
     
  6. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #6
    The new Mighty Mouse manual specifically says that it will work with a USB Bluetooth adapter available from the Apple Store. I have to figure they're referring to the D-Link adapter because they've been selling it for a long time, and like josh.thomas said, it acts just like the internal module. My brother has one on his Power Mac G4 and it works just perfectly.
     
  7. iShane thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Okay thanks guys.

    I don't have it sadly. :(

    And yes, haha. I should have known but I really wasn't too big into computers when we got this computer. I will look for one of those Bluetooth things in the Apple store. I WANT THAT MOUSE.
     

Share This Page