Question about Refurbished Macs

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by markw10, Nov 13, 2006.

1. markw10 macrumors 6502

I'm relatively new to Macs and have noticed that whenever a new system comes out such as the updated MacBook or MacBook Pro that then there is a line of refurbished macs that come out which seem to be the previous generation systems and of course they are cheaper.
    My question, are these leftover inventory that Apple is clearing or are these actual refurbished machines which were sent in and refurbished? Or is the case that it could be either of these? From what I see it seems like these come with warranty so are likely very good deals if you don't need the latest and greatest.

2. mklos macrumors 68000

mklos

Refurbished Macs are indeed refurbished. As with anything refurbished, its a crapshoot as to how good a Mac you'll get. The good thing is that they have the same 1 yr warranty as any new Mac, along with 90 days telephone support.

If it has cosmetic scratches, or dents, Apple will most likely NOT fix those issues as long as it doesn't effect the way the computer works. So just keep that in mind. Thats the chance you take with a refurb computer.

3. btc macrumors member

you have to read the fine print. "refurbishing" is either done at Apple or is done at a buisness that does it. some places just plug the thing in and if it runs for 5 minutes it's time to ship it out. "new, in box" is something else entirely.

i have never bought a new Mac. That says more for my financial status than my faith in Macs. i'm retired on disability. If i could afford it i'd be buying a new Powerbook, too.

in all my used purchases starting with a Mac Plus up to my recent purchase of a G4 i've never gotten a bad deal. i only buy from well-known refurbishers.

The G4 i recently bought did have a problem though when it arrived, it would shut down about 10% of the time when booting. I did a clean install of the OS and that problem went away.