Question about run application on IOS Device with IOS 5.1

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by cthesky, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    I am using XCode 4.2 with IOS 5 to develop an application. This application doesn't include any new features provided in IOS 5.1. So, if I submit this app to App Store, can the users download it and run it on their IOS device with IOS 5.1?

    Any comments and suggestions are appreciated.

    Thanks a lot. :)
     
  2. dejo, Sep 3, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012

    Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #2
    First, you should look up what API changes there were with 5.1. Then you should see if any of those changes affect your code. You should probably also try running your app on the simulator under 5.1. And lastly, iOS 6 is going to be released to the world soon. You should also check your app against it.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #3
    The 5.1 simulator comes with Xcode 4.3.x, so you cannot use it without hack I think. Perhaps he could copy from the package contents from a newer Xcode? Similar for 6. There is a hack to use the later 5.x.x SDK with Xcode 4.2, but I'm not convinced it is 100% healthy. Yes, I did it.


    cthesky, are you stuck at 4.2, as my previous machine was? If not, I suggest you upgrade.
     

Share This Page