Question about setting up a Mac with Verizon DSL

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by levitynyc, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #1
    Currently on my PC I have Verizon DSL. When I sign on, I need to login to verizon DSL with my user name and Password in order to connect. When I first signed up, I needed to install the verizon software.

    Is the process easy to do on a Mac as I am thinking of buyin an iMac soon?

    I don't plan on keeping the PC and I dont run a wireless network or anything.

    I guess my question is, Do I need to software CD or is it relatively simple (like on the Xbox 360) to just plug in the wire to the iMac and run a few quick steps?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #2
    Just plug the ethernet cord into the iMac. It should properly detect that you need to use PPPoE. If it doesn't, there is a field under System Preferences > Network > Ethernet (Drop Down List) > PPPoE (tab bar list). You will have to fill in your name and password. Very easy. Network connections are entered in a uniform fashion in OS X. So is Windows, in a way, but you get more easily tricked into thinking you need to install Verizon's proprietary connection software, which you don't really have to. Does it show you ads and have a button for 'one-stop shopping', etc? You rarely, pretty much never, have to install your ISP's connection software on your mac.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    If Verizon's DSL is the same as AT&T's (formerly SBC Yahoo's), what Verizon didn't tell you is that you don't really need to install their software, even on your PC. You can configure the DSL modem through any web browser. The DSL modem stores your account name and password and handles the login to Verizon's network for you. You just connect your Mac(s) to the modem and it should automatically assign them an IP address.

    Try going to http://192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 in your web browser.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Just to clarify for levitynyc, PPPoE can be run on the Mac or on the modem (at least with the DSL modem I have experience with). My post talked about the "on the modem" way of doing it, yours talked about the "on the Mac" way. I guess they're pretty much equivalent - the "on the modem" way might use less of the Mac's CPU, but I haven't tested this.
     
  5. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #5
    The Verizon software is only needed to set up a brand new account, and even then you can do it manually with a normal Web browser using undocumented addresses.

    But if your service is already set up, you don't need to worry about this. If you have one of the newer Westell boxes with the built-in NAT, the Mac should work out of the box, as soon as you plug it in.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #7
    Verizon DSL Information

    Things to know about VOL DSL

    1. DO NOT install the verizon cd on your MAC!!!!!!

    2. Know what modem you are using - here is a list for you
    2100 white westell - No Router
    2110 Westell Combo - no router
    Westell 2200 - built-in Router
    Westell 6100 - built-in Router
    Westell Versalink 327 - built-in Router
    Actiontec - built-in Router
    Westell 6110 - No router ​

    3. Modems listed with routers can be accessed and set up to connect you to the internet.
    4. Creating a PPPoE connection in OSX - Manually (NO CD)
    a. go to Apple > System Preferences
    b. choose Network
    c. Drop Down the Location menu
    d. choose NEW Location
    e. Name your Location anything you want click OK
    f. Drop down SHOW
    g. Choose Network Port Configuraitons
    H. Uncheck all Ports except for Ethernet
    I. Drop down the SHOW menu again
    j. Choose ETHERNET
    K. Go to the TCP/IP Tab
    L. Chck the connect using PPPoE boxx
    M. Enter your User ID and Password (account id or Email Id will work)
    N. chek the box that says to Show PPPoE status in Menu Bar
    O. Click on the <...> Icon by the clock and choose connect
    WHALLAH you are online ....
    If you have a connection to a router configure the router using PPPoE and enter you user id information when prompted.​
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Aerdman, you just deserve kudos for a great post. :)

    Just out of curiosity, are the instructions for PPPoE from OS X for the with-router modems or the without-router modems? I'm assuming the latter, but I just wanted to clarify.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Reimer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #9
    Without.... if a DSL modem has built in PPPoE authentication then theres no need to set PPPoE up in OS X. You could just telnet or use the web based config for the modem to enter the login/pass info.
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    That's what I thought -- I was just making sure. But I have never used a DSL or cable modem with an integrated router before, AFAIK.
     

Share This Page