Question about the buying ram guide.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Wellander, May 1, 2006.

  1. Wellander macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Huntington Beach Ca
    #1
    Hi,
    In it I see For AppleCare owners: Your computer must retain at least ONE stick of Apple-branded RAM to continue to qualify with AppleCare. For 12" PowerBook and iBook owners, the logic board RAM satisfies this requirement. For all other computers the Apple-provided RAM must stay with the computer until AppleCare expires.
    But how does this affect systems that only have one ram slot?
    Can someone shed some light on this?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Acehigh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    #2
    Keep the old ram, and if you have a problem you need to reinstall it.

    The only other option is order the Ram from Apple and have the store install it. Also even if you install your ram in the 2nd slot Apple will take that out as they do test on your computer.
     
  3. Wellander thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Huntington Beach Ca
  4. raydave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #4
    RAM / Apple Care

    I recently had my hard drive replaced by Apple Care. They said that it had crashed due to the third party RAM (1 Gb) that I had put into my powerbook.

    They said the RAM did not meet their specifications and that if I reinstalled it and it crashed again that they would not cover any repairs.

    Subsequently I have searched high and low on the net looking for any indications of RAM being linked to hard drive failure and I have yet to find any.

    I wonder if Apple is just trying to ecourage me to spend the money on their products - as I had had the RAM in my computer for over a year before there were any problems. And from what I learned on the net it is common for Powerbook hard drives to crash after 2-3 years, mine is 2 1/2 years old.

    Cheers ~
     
  5. meanpeoplesuck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #5
    Sounds like they're trying to suck more $$$ out of ya :)
     
  6. macaddicted macrumors regular

    macaddicted

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Down on Copperline...
    #6
    Hah. I had problems with my 1.6 Ghz G5. Tried everything I could think of to fix it, except removing the Apple ram. When I took the system into the Apple Store they told me that it was their ram that was causing the problem.

    I took the system home and ordered another 3rd party stick and threw the Apple stick in the compost head, er desk drawer.
     

Share This Page