Question Mark during bootup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Reflow, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #1
    Hi all,

    I just got my quicksilver to finally work and installed tiger. Now every time I reboot I keep getting the question mark and it won't load. Is it my hard drive going bad. It did not do this intill I did all of the updates on it
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    I'm pretty sure that the question mark means the computer can't find the system folder. Boot from the CD and use the Disk Utility to Repair Permissions. If this doesn't do anything, I'd try reinstalling Tiger. You can use an Archive and Install if you have data you don't want to lose.
     
  3. Reflow thread starter macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #3
    I will try that when I get back to work on Monday.

    Thanks
     
  4. doucy2 macrumors 65816

    doucy2

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #4
    alright man

    what i recommend (that works every time)

    boot from tiger cd
    completely erase the whole hd using disk utility
    and reinstall Tiger
    this has always solver the ? mark problem for me :)

    good luck if you need more help holler
     
  5. jocool5 macrumors member

    jocool5

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    I have seen this work and still have no explanation
    My teacher zaped the Pram then did a hard reboot. Got him into the os x and then did a permissions verification.
     
  6. Reflow thread starter macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #6
    That weird I have 3 and never had this problem before. So how do you tell if the hhd is bad. To me this is what I thought first when I went to work and booted up the machine. So I will try that and see what happens
     
  7. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    You sound like a windows user. Formatting should always be a last resort, not the first try.
     
  8. jocool5 macrumors member

    jocool5

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #8
    well to start if it sounds bad but if target disk mode wont work then that is a big indicator. At the HS i went to they had the apple techs there to look at this problem they have had som 50 Imac's hard drives go bad. the Imacs tehm selfs are rev B so i don't know what the issue is there.
     
  9. Reflow thread starter macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #9
    Looks like a bad drive to me. I tried disk utility and it did nothing. So I just replaced the drive. Now all good
     

Share This Page