question mark to big for small rumors

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by redeye be, Mar 31, 2005.

  1. redeye be macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #1
    [​IMG]
    maybe you guys should use more whitespace between the lines, or use a smaller ? ;)
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    shows up fine for me, but then again my browser isnt stretched that wide so i would guess that has something to do with the rendering of the page
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    No problems with a normal sized Firefox window... even if another paragraph is added, it looked fine earlier, too...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. redeye be thread starter macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #4
    well, i'm using safari on a 21" crt, the problem was worse because i tend to view sites in a very wide window.
    I checked with Firefox and the issue is the same.

    I did notice a line was added to the post as well. The problem has become a tad smaller now :)
     
  5. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    We added a little more text to that particular story, as a matter of fact. But that wasn't the reason!
     
  6. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #6
    Yea I think I read of this problem before. Happens to me to if the window is stretched out wide, thus stretching out the text and making the area shorter.
     
  7. redeye be thread starter macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #7
    yeah right ;)

    no, really, I really didn't think my 'powers' as a regular would reach that far. I just noticed it.

    but still, thx Q :p
     
  8. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Just say the word anytime you want a story changed, redeye_be. ;)

    I don't know why the graphic isn't in a cell whose height expands to fit the larger of the text or image. In theory, this could be a design problem in the HTML that could be fixed with a suitable change to the template.

    If the story is short enough or the screen wide enough, would the question mark extend past the "Submitted by" section too, or would that cell expand?
     
  9. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #9
    Perhaps, instead of changing the template, we could change that image to transparent gif or png?
     
  10. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #10
    Sorry, I don't have my photoshop with me and I did this mock up in fireworks, so pardon the poor editing.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    FWIW, at least in my Firefox, you can make the problem appear by reducing the text size (Apple-(-)) and go away by increasing it. At my default setting, I don't get this effect, but if I make my font small enough, I will....
     
  12. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    I think that is an excellent idea. I will look into it. However, if Apple is announcing Tiger tomorrow (I heard a rumor somewhere about just that possibility) we might be a bit busy and otherwise distracted here for the next day or two!
     
  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #13
    If Apple announces Tiger tomorrow, no one will bother to click on this thread to complain about your lack of a fix either. ;)
     
  14. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14
    very true, that is if anyone can get to the forums from the overload that is sure to hit
     
  15. redeye be thread starter macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #15
    Yep, i do think this is how it showed up at first (without 'my' line added to the story that is ;))
    I used mkrishnan's ingenious command- hack and my full 1600 px wide to get this:
    [​IMG]

    Now what's all the fuss about this tiger?
     
  16. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Adding 'overflow: auto;height: 100%;' to the storybody class should fix it I believe -

    http://home.tkx.cx/~knox/local/mr.html
     
  17. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #17
    Now we have no excuse not to fix it. I'll fill out a TPS report and that should do it. :)
     
  18. panphage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    #18
    Don't forget the TPS Report fax cover sheet. Thanks.
     
  19. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #19
    I'm on it... will fix it later today.

    arn
     
  20. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Hmm, well, guess Netscape 7 & IE 5.1 don't like that method (which is strange, since Firefox and IE 5.2 work fine). Alternative way of doing it is putting

    <span style="clear:right;"></span>

    At the end of the post, before the closing </div>.
     
  21. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    And if I could please have my Swingline stapler back. :)
     
  22. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #22
    ya, a couple of people with AOL browsers emailed me saying it doesn't work on their browser.

    I implemented this change but doesn't seem to fix the overflow thing. Now the picture goes over the bottom again.

    thanks
    arn
     
  23. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Doh, should be div, not span. Sorry :)

    Changed it on the test page for the first article - http://home.tkx.cx/~knox/local/mr.html
     

Share This Page