Question on buy new ram for intel Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by xxcool, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. xxcool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #1
    I read that to get the optimal RAM performance on the new intel mac, you should install a matched pair. But what does that mean? I know that probably means they should have the same capacity, both 1 Gig, or both 512 Meg, etc. But do they need to be from the same manufacturer to ensure "match-ness"? I'm thinking about buying a new macbook pro which comes with 1 Gig of RAM standard, and purchasing extra Gig from a vendor like Crucial. Would this work? or do I need to buy 2 1Gig from Crucial to ensure "match-ness".

    Thanks for any advise.
     
  2. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    No... the specs have to be identical, AFAIK. Could be wrong, though.

    However, you're looking at only a few percent speed boost, and even then only some of the time, so it isn't all that big of a deal.
     
  4. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #4
    that's what i meant, i meant that the brand didn't matter... at least it didn't in my powerbook... well see how the MBP reacts next week to 2 different brand 1-gig sticks.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    The RAM has to match for size, speed and "composition"
    Apple doesn't define composition, but we assume it to mean the number of chips, the organization of the chips into rows and columns of memory, and the SPD programming on the module. In theory, two different brands could match for composition.

    Buy you have no way of knowing other than trial and error if two same-size, same-speed modules will match or not, so the only guaranteed way is to buy two modules at the same time from the same seller.

    No, we are not talking about the same thing at all. Powerbooks do not implement Dual Channel Access, never have, so whether or not different brands function in a Powerbook (and they do) has no bearing on this discussion.
     

Share This Page