Question on Do it yourself Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by xxcool, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. xxcool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #1
    Would Apple really find out if I make modification to my hardware? I'm thinking about upgrading my drive to 160 GB myself but I was wondering if it really is possible for Apple to find out in case I need warranty work done on something else. Am I risking voiding my warranty?

    Thanks.
     
  2. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #2
    It would be useful to know what machine you have. Some are designed to be user-upgradeable.
     
  3. NotFound macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #3
    I was told last night that upgrading RAM doesn't void warranty.... is it the same with hard drive?
     
  4. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #4
    Again, depends on the machine. Some, like the Intel iMac, are clearly not designed for upgrading the HD. Generally, however, if you don't cause any damage in the process, you should be OK, despite any questions asked.
     
  5. xxcool thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #5
    I am talking about a Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo, and I'm hoping to upgrade the hard drive. I was wondering if Apple keeps track of the original configuration based on the serial number.



     
  6. Jollins macrumors regular

    Jollins

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #6
    Keep the old drive on hand in case it needs to be sent in for repair. I upgraded the HDD in my macbook, and then later had to send it in for repair due to random shutdowns. The warranty was still good, but they needed to know whether the problem was caused by the hard drive or not so I put the old one back in.
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    The harddrive is not user upgradable in the MBP. If you put a drive in that Apple were not shipping when you bought your MBP then yes, they will know. I'd be very surprised if they don't have the exact spec of the machines they sell by serial.
     
  8. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #8
    I just have to say...I just upgraded my 100 gb stock hard drive to a 160 gb hard drive in my Macbook Pro. What a pain in the @$$! It's like night and day trying to install the hard drive into a Macbook and Macbook Pro. Also, I guess I have to keep the original hard drive if I ever need to send it in for Apple to fix? That blows, I could really use the extra dough :mad:
     
  9. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #9
    Unless it's a hard drive-related problem, I don't see why your having changed the drive would make any difference, unless you damaged some other component.
     
  10. toontra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    Out of interest, what 160 hard drive did you get? I've got a C2D Macbook so the proceedure should be a doddle (at least compared to my old iBook G3, which meant dismantling virtually the whole machine!).
     
  11. 4nex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #11
    Depends if they're looking for any excuse to get out of it though. Does it actually say anywhere in the warranty you can't take stuff apart? I haven't actually read it tbh
     
  12. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #12
    Well, it's not quite a doddle. You do have to dismantle the entire machine almost. You have to take off the keyboard, take off the ribbon, move the bluetooth and airport cards, take off the tape on top of the old hard drive, pop it out, and reverse the whole procedure. I think the whole thing takes ~16 screws to take out. I got the Hitachi Travelstar, and I've loved it since I got it (had it in my Macbook before, which was WAY easier to install).
     
  13. qbmcnabb108 macrumors member

    qbmcnabb108

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    #13
    ^ I thought it was easy to upgrade hard drives and RAM in the MacBook?
     
  14. macg4 macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #14
    yeah it is in the mac books's not the pros.
     
  15. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    I upgraded my 80GB drive to 160GB. I think I used a Hitachi Travelstar as well. It was the first time I ever took apart a computer. The hardest part was not loosing the microscopic screws.
     
  16. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #16
    They will know. The hard drives used by Apple has a special Apple logo printed on it.
     

Share This Page