Question on using Apple Remote w/Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HotPink, May 1, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #1
    So, I have an Apple remote, and was going to buy the Manta TR1 IR receiver (http://twistedmelon.com/mira/hardware.html) from twistedmelon.com.

    QUESTION: Do I need to buy the Mira software? All I want is the usual remote functions (FrontRow, etc.). Will the Mac Pro recognize the remote with just the IR recerver?

    Thanks in advance!

    Also, if anyone is using this product, how do you like it?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Over and around
    #2
    I'd like to know the answer to this as well... has anyone used this product before? Anyone? Bueller? Anyone?:p
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Location:
    New York/Massachusetts
    #3
    On that page it says this:

    Requirements:
    Available USB port
    Mac OS X 10.4 or newer
    Mira software
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Over and around
    #4
    Then why do they sell the IR receiver separately? And incentivise you to get the receiver w/the Mira software bundled...???
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #5
    that is the one thing you must buy. from the site:

    to get it to work, you need Mira and a 'supported' IR receiver. the manta, an old MCE thing you found in the dumpster, whatever is on their list...

    the Mira software + any supported receiver + the apple remote you already have is the ticket.

    i don't use it, but have a customer who loves and and won't quit talking about it and trying to talk me into it for whatever that's worth. best of luck.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    Errr... but the MacPro never had support for the Apple Remote, by default nor was it ever included.

    Anyway, what uses doe it offer of adding an IR remote to a Mac Pro?? I have it with my MacBook and I've never been tempted to use it.. They're all still in their boxes.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    An iPhone or Touch using bluetooth would be a better option.
     

Share This Page