Question regarding Garageband

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by galstaph, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #1
    Hi all,
    I was wondering if anyone knows how, or a program that allows, for one to directly input notes into garageband without an external keyboard (i.e. via mouse) any ideas, i can't seem to find anything, I want to play around, and I don't want to buy a keyboard just yet....
     
  2. g30ffr3y macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #2

    i believe you can "draw" in the notes in the grid\matrix midi editor...
     
  3. N10248 macrumors 6502a

    N10248

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, U.K.
    #3
    iPiano is what you need, you can use your keyboard as a music keyboard

    http://www.cidersoftware.com/products/

    you can even map notes to certain keys, very handy when you need an extra high or low note

    bye
     
  4. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #4
    Isn't that feature built into Garageband?

    It's like, file>show keyboard or something....

    or tools>show keyboard.

    I forget.

    But I'm pretty sure its built in to be able to use your cpu keyboard as a piano
     
  5. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #5
    Yep, that would be...GarageBand. But a newer version than the one you have, apparently. Though even version 1 has the little mouse keyboard...take a look at the Window menu.

    --Eric
     
  6. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #6
    Nearly :)

    If you go Window>Show Keyboard (or Cmd-K) you will get an onscreen keyboard you can play with your mouse.

    If you go Window>Musical Typing (or Shift-Cmd-K) you can use your computer's keyboard to play notes (see picture below).

    I didn't know Garageband could do this until your post prompted me to do a bit of exploring. It's kind of similar to the Caps Lock Keyboard in Logic
     

    Attached Files:

  7. galstaph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #7
    thanks for the replies,
    I never really played with garageband all too much so this helps.
    BTW i have v. 2.0.2
     

Share This Page