Question to PB owners

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by actripxl, Jul 1, 2003.

1. actripxl macrumors 6502

actripxl

Ok guys I need some info on which PB I should buy and DV camcorder if you have any recommendations. Now my story to give an idea of my situation. I am a Dental student who's about to graduate and do a thesis and presentation. Right now I have an ibook 800 but doubt it will be sufficient for what I need to do. See I plan to take stills and video(DV Cam that can do both well) from patients. For the still's I plan to morph between before and after shot's and for the video to be able and blurry out the patients face and possibly alter voice to keep the anonymous as my selection will be most likely of individuals with some risky behavior that hey might not divulge otherwise. I estimate about 50 individuals so I will need to us a good amount of images and video. Is the 17' worth the extra price as as far as speed is concerned. Money is no problem as I will need to purchase software as well so any recommendations welcomed since I don't think I movie will cut it for me. The Cam will be purchased in Aug. and the PB at most by Dec. Any help is appreciated especially those that use their Mac's for media.

2. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

Hey if moneys no problem, get the 17" with FCP4 and all the bells and whistles. I don't see why you can't do all that with imovie or an ibook for that matter though. Even a 12" PB could handle it too.

3. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

patrick0brien

-actripxl

I'm writing you this from a 12" PowerBook that does just what you ask.

I use a Sony Digital 8 Camcorder and Final Cut Express. Howver I also use Other World Computing's Mercury On-The-Go 60GB 5400RPM 16MB Cache
    For editing. This drive is especially designed for this.

You're on the right track.

4. iJon macrumors 604

iJon