Questions for the Experts Re: Installing A New HD in an iBook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Redline13, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #1
    I have an old G3 iBook that I am going to install a bigger hard drive in. When I get it in I want to reinstall tiger. The problem is that when I installed it the first time I started up the iBook in target disk mode and used the superdrive in my Powerbook to install tiger off the dvd. The hard drive I am installing in the iBook comes from a windows laptop and still has windows installed on it. My question is can will I be able to start the iBook in target diak mode with the new drive as it is. Is target diak mode a feature of Mac OS X or is it built into the hardware? If it's the latter I guess it won't be any problem. Does think Make any sense?
     
  2. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    I would guess you want to first boot the iBook from the CDROM and reformat that Windows drive to HFS+, THEN try target disk mode.

    Replacing the hard deive in an iBook is not for the weak of heart. Google for takeapart instructions and videos first, then leave yourself a couple of hours, and work out a parts management plan so that every little thing that comes out, goes back in the right place. You will NOT be able to remember it all...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #3
    Oh I know what I am in for. I have looked at a couple of online "how to's" and I have all the necessary tools. I got a neat diagram from pbfixit.com (I think) that shows all the screws in the order they come apart. the idea is that you take it apart all and tape the screws to the pictures so you don't confuse the order or where they go. As far the Cd's .... that is part of the problem. All I have is a copy of Tiger on DVD. That is why I am using the target disk mode o install the OS.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    AZ
    #4

    Do you have access to a powermac? If so I would just pop your drive in it and reformat / install tiger from there. Doesnt take more then 5mins to add a second drive to a PM ;)
     
  5. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    IF you buy a 2.5" 44 pin - 3.5" 40 pin adaptor and don't have a PowerMac G5 that is.
     
  6. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Oh. I thought you were using target disk mode because the iBook didn't have a DVD capable drive.

    Mmmm. I have no idea whether target disk mode will work if there isn't a Mac volume in the machine to start with. You could get yourself an external firewire or USB 2.5" enclosure, they're pretty cheap, and put the drive in so you could format it before installing. You should also look into getting a bootable CD for that iBook, so you can do repairs, reset passwords and whatnot.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    AZ
    #7
    my bad
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #8
    In target disk mode, you should be able to do anything to the hard drive that you need to, that includes formating and partitioning it. Its hardware dependant - meaning you have to have firewire. but other than that, it should work like that.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #9
    That is the situation. Sorry if I was unclear.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #10
    So I should be able to start the iBook in target disk mode reguardless of what is on the drive? In this case a windows formatted drive with XP on it so I can reformat it using my powerbook?
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #11
    It'll just recognize it as a drive of NTFS or FAT32 - or at least it should. I see no reason why not. Although, if you have Panther CD, I would recommend booting from it, and reformating, but the way, TDM, should work just fine for you. - Even as FAT32
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #12
    I don't have a Panther cd or I would go that way. I am just trying to avoid buying a extrenal inclosure. Thanks for the info.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #13
    I caved and bought a cheap enclosure for the HD. I am going to format it, install tiger on it and then put it in the iBook. I when I turn it for the first time on i should be good to go.
     

Share This Page