questions regarding RAM and software for Intel iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by uvula, Apr 2, 2006.

  1. uvula macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #1
    Hi -

    I am quite close to purchasing a 17" Intel iMac, and I have two questions:

    -can I expect to move all of my current apps and software over and have them run, Rosetta or not? I read somewhere that Office apps need to be at least from 2004 - mine are OSX, but are not that new. I don't use any OS9 applications - mainly just concerned about Office (not wanting to buy a new version until the universal one comes out).

    -on RAM - I'm reading that it's best to have both of your slots filled with equal RAM sticks. I'd be tempted to use the stock 512 and then purchase a 1g stick, equaling 1.5g total. I understand that for reasons slightly beyond my comprehension, it's best if they match. But, is there a *problem* with this proposed unequal setup, as both slots would not contain equal RAM?

    Please bear in mind I'm not the techiest person in the world.

    The *only* thing I do that requires any real power is the occasional session of WoW (pathetically at present with my 800mHz iBook). I'll get the new version of Adobe CS in the future when the new version is out, but the Adobe programs are for fun, not for work or school.

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #2
    Do you have Office v.X? I believe this works fine under Rosetta.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    There's no problem with an unmatched pair. THey will run fine, you just won't get the small speed improvement of Dual Channel access. But the advantage of the extra 512 Mb in a 1.5 Gb setup outweighs the dual channel advantage of matched 512s.

    Of course, matched 1 Gb's are ideal.
    Buy your RAM from a reputable third-party dealer who tests and guarantees compatibility, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. uvula thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #4
    office schmoffice

    I do have v.x, though the latest date in "about this program" is 2001...

    Sounds like the 1.5g of RAM outweighs the importance of having a matched set - thanks.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    I seriously considering the 1.5 GB option for my 17" as well, so this seems as good a place as any to ask.

    How matched do they have to be? Is size the main factor?

    e.g. if I buy 1GB for $150 from Crucial now and buy another a few months down the road (probably < $150) will they still be considered "matched"?

    Any reason to take the 512MB out of the primary slot and move it to the secondary slot when doing the install or is it OK to leave it as is and just add the 1 GB?

    B
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    They absolutely have to be the same size if you want to match RAM for Dual Channel access.. They also have to be the same speed and composition (number and organization of chips on the module). Your best chance is to buy the same make and model of RAM, but there is no 100% guarantee of this because RAM manufacturers change their builds all the time without notice.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    I was afraid of that.

    Might just be worth waiting just a little longer and getting 2GB straight away.

    B
     

Share This Page