Quick AppleWorks Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by skymaXimus, Sep 1, 2003.

  1. skymaXimus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    #1
    Got AW v.6 running on 10.2.6
    Is there any way to have it check the spelling as you type like Word does? Also it doesn't thing there is anything wrong w/ words like "THe" how do I fix this?
    thanks
     
  2. BenWakin macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego
    #2
    You could proofread what you type and become a flawless typer. Who likes what Word does, anyways? I hate that.
     
  3. skymaXimus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    #3
    Or maybe I could sell my Mac and just get a typewritter. Seriously though, does anyone have any constructive comments?
     
  4. billyboy macrumors 65816

    billyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Location:
    In my head
    #4
    Just checked and Appleworks bless it cant use the OSX spell check. Textedit can which I use more than AW to be honest. Also these are mentioned,

    third-party apps like TypeIt4Me and SpellCatcher might be able to as well.

    Probably not what you wanted to hear, and it is sort of embarrassing that an Apple word processor cant do what you ask, but there you go. You can obviously spell check at the end - it can do that quite nicely!!
     
  5. Anna macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    although the feature is not in the current AppleWorks, wait until panther because there are fierce rumours that AppleWorks is going to have a MAJOR revision...and the Check as-you-go feature is going to be included
     
  6. pyrotoaster macrumors 65816

    pyrotoaster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Location:
    Oak Park, IL
    #6
    Almost every single app Apple produces is fantastic, but AppleWorks... isn't.

    It's actually the incredibly old office app ClarisWorks.

    There's not much you can do to make up for AppleWorks's shortcomings. We just need to wait for Apple to produce the fabled "Document" office app.
     
  7. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    The system wide spell check is not available in Appleworks because it is not Cocoa (I think).

    Hopefully it will be Cocoa and will take advantage of the spell checker in the next version. Until then, I guess you should use text edit. :(
     
  8. pyrotoaster macrumors 65816

    pyrotoaster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Location:
    Oak Park, IL
    #8
    No, AppleWorks isn't written in Cocoa. It's a carbon port that can be traced all the way back to ClarisWorks.

    In my opinion, Apple should scrap AppleWorks all together because it's completely outdated and useless. It could then be replaced by a powerful Cocoa office suite.
     
  9. skymaXimus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    #9
    I had been using text edit on my 12" PB and I just hate launching anything from the MS office suite. I just recently acquired an eMac which came w/ apple works so I was giving it a whirl and really wanted to use it. You know, that warm fuzzy feeling you get when you launch something Apple. Oh well, maybe some day.
     
  10. billyboy macrumors 65816

    billyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Location:
    In my head
    #10
    Sorry, but just because it is old and a little weary doesnt make it useless. Not quite useless for a power user is possibly accurate, but seeing as most people never get to use a fraction of the features in an office app, and having spent a little time poking around in AW, I´d say it is plenty good enough for this teacher´s needs - alright, so I prefer to type documents in Text Edit :) but dragging the text over to AW for formatting is easy.

    I also think the Drawing element is very flexible and easy to produce photo quality brochures; producing accounts that fall a bit short of the requirements of a multi national company seem easy to do, and it is not bloated and endowed with 6" deep menu bars like a well known super office programme we could mention. And it is only 70 quid to do everything it says on the box!

    It would be nice to be able to right click though for cut copy paste.
     

Share This Page