Quick external HD question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by dopey220, Sep 15, 2006.

  1. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #1
    I've found a good deal on an external hard drive for my eMac, but it says USB 2.0 in the ad. My computer doesn't have 2.0. Can I still use it, even though it's not high-speed?
     
  2. Chrysaor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #2
    You can still use it in USB 1.1 mode, but it will be slooooooooow. :eek:
     
  3. islandman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #3
    Slow isn't even the right word! Are you sure it's not time to replace that eMac?
     
  4. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #4
    Get a Firewire drive instead, you'll be happy you did. :)
     
  5. dopey220 thread starter macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #5
    Probably not. I picked it up last week for $75 :D Plus, I have a brand new MacBook for when I need more power.

    Looks like I'll be going with FireWire. Thanks for the advice.
     

Share This Page