quick! - how do i connect my macbook to my imac HD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mac000, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. mac000
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #1
    i remember being able to go to HD~NETWORK~MY NETWORKS then being able to click on the name of my iMac computer from my old iBook ( and vise versa) but i forget how to set it up on my new macbook. can someone please help

    what exactly do i need to have tunred on/off (in sharing in syst. pref?) on both the macbook and imac to be able to mount each others HD/etc.

    thanks people
     
  2. MacBook'06
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    MacBook'06

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #2
    you need to connect a firewire cable to each of your computers, reboot the computer you want to see on the other one and hold down 'T'.
    For a more complete guide type in: "Transferring files between two computers using FireWire" in the help viewer (command ?) and it will tell you everything you need!
     
  3. neomancer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #3
    I'm guessing that you want to be able to "share" documents between the two macs... well you have to "System preferences" and click on "Sharing". Under the "Services" click "Personal File Sharing" and all other services you want to activate. Then click on start sharing. When other computers try to acces your computer they must introduce a user name and password.
    Hope this helps:)
     
  4. mac000
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #4

    thats exactly what I'm trying to do, but for some reason when i go to Servers~ on my macbook, i find no indication for an option to click on the name of my iMac computer, what gives?:confused:
     
  5. Electro Funk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #5
    assuming you have all computers connected to the network and powered on :p just click on your HD on the MB or iMac and then click on network... choose what comp you want to connect to and then type in the user name and pw for the computer that you want to connect to... :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Thanatoast
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Thanatoast

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    Denver
    #6
    Sometimes there is a short (or not so short) delay between the time that you opent he Network window and the time all the computers appear. Give it a minute or two and see if it magically shows up. This has happened to me a few times.
     
  7. mac000
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #7

    ok so personal file sharing is enable on both the iMac and the MacBook. I can connect to the MacBook from the iMac, BUT i cannot connect to the iMac from the MacBook. there is just no name under SERVERS~ or MY NETWORK~

    and both have been enabled for hours... :-(
     
  8. neomancer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #8
    Check if AppleTalk is active on both your computers. To do this go to "System Preferences" and choose "Network" then select "Built-in Ethernet" from the "Show" menu (or "AirPort" if your using a wireless connection). Now select the "AppleTalk" tab. Check if "Make AppleTalk Active" is selected, if not select it. I hope this cures your problem :)
     
  9. neocell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #9
    copy down the afp:// address that shows up in System Preferences once you enable sharing (at the bottom of the window). Type this into Safari on your other computer. Everything should then work
     
  10. Electro Funk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #10
    is the firewall enabled on you MB? try turning it off and then see if it appears...
     
  11. Shubes
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    #11
    As simple (and obvious!) as your solution seems, that solved my issue. I recently updated both my iMac and Macbook Air to El Capitan, and never thought to look in System Preferences to see why they wouldn't "see" each other. Your solution was quick and easy, and got my Macs talking again.

    Thanks for sharing even the obvious with those of us who have a tendency to overlook it at times. :)
     

Share This Page