Quick iBook memory question...

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by edesignuk, Nov 16, 2002.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Quick question: What memory does the iBook 800 take? I thought it was 100Mhz SDRAM SODIMMS 144-Pin?
    But when I go through Crucial.com's memory wizard it brings me to a page of memory for the iBook 800 that is 133Mhz, is this right? Would it work? Or have Crucial got it wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  2. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  3. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #3
    PC133 RAM will work just fine. Same thing happened when I ordered RAM for the old beige G3 (PC66) at the office, they sent me PC100 RAM. I'd say it's because it's cheaper and more common, and since it's "backwards compatible" it's perfectly alright to use.
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    As stated above 133Mhz RAM will work fine. I ordered 512Mb for my new iBook. RAM is here, iBook is not. When I get the iBook I'll confirm that it all works as expected.
     
  5. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Thanks chaps! :)
    One thing I'd like to confirm, will it work ok along side the 128Mb PC100 DIMM that i presume comes with the iBook, or will it only work if it is the only DIMM installed?
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    The iBook has 128Mb of RAM soldered onto the logic board. It is non-removable and non upgradable :( In addition the iBook has a single SO-DIMM slot which can accept any low profile 3.3v PC100 (or PC133) S0-DIMM of up to 512Mb in capacity. Giving a maximum total RAM of 640Mb. So yes a single SO-DIMM will work in addition to the 128Mb base RAM.
     
  7. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    That's great! Thanks very much. :)
     
  8. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    The 128Mb built in memory (PC100) will work fine with your new PC133 Memory. The PC133 will just downclock to the speed of the PC100 automatically.
     

Share This Page