Quick Question about airport networks

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Winstonp, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    1. I have my g5 hooked up to the school network via eithernet. The g5 has an airport extreme card.

    2. My goal is to host a wireless network from my G5 allowing internet browsing on my laptop with airport extreme.

    3. Basically, how do I make my desktop a wireless hub for my laptop with the extreme card?
     
  2. Electric Monk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    #2
    I think you just go into System Preferences/Sharing/Internet and select the required options.
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    It is very easy to do, but I really recommend just getting a wireless router. You can even get a really, really cheap one and get better range and better security than by creating an ad hoc network.
     
  4. Winstonp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
  5. Winstonp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    thanks a million.

    Oh, I wish i could afford a router.
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    Here is a G router for $20 after rebate: Here
    Here is a B router for $10 after rebate: Here

    These aren't the best routers, but they will probably work better than your ad hoc network.
     
  7. Electric Monk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005

Share This Page