quick question, firewire HDD > DVD writer via daisy chain?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by arcsbite, May 30, 2006.

  1. arcsbite Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #1
    ok, I lied, it's 2 questions.

    I'm wanting to hook my sony DRX-800UL DVD writer to my iMac, but I currently have my LaCie 500GB external hooked up via FW400.
    can I daisy chain from the LaCie to the Sony?
    I ask because the LaCie has 1 400 and 2 800 ports, so i'd have to go..

    iMac via FW400 > FW400 LaCie
    then
    FW800 LaCie > FW400 Sony

    does that make sense? and would it work?

    also, what cable would I need to go from the FW800 on the LaCie to the FW400 on the sony? I tried ebay but it's all 6 pin 9 pin 4 pin stuff...I'm new to firewire.


    thanks :)

    Edit - also, would this have any effect on the performance of either device?
     
  2. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #2
    Hi, your LaCie has the FW400, plug that in using a FW400 cable then you can use your FW400 cable that will come with the new drive and plug that into the FW400 port on the HDD if it has tha FW400 port (I think it does as this is how a friend has his setup). You can't use FW800 as the iMac doesn't have FW800 only FW400. Now if you have a FW800 cable then you need an adapter, try Amazon or look at the AppleStore for some idea of the correct type of adapter.
    Hope this helps :)
     
  3. arcsbite thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #3


    ummm.....:confused:

    I currently have my LaCie HDD hooked upto the imac via FW400, but the LaCie HDD only has 1 x FW400 port.
    so I'd need to hook my sony dvd writer up through the LaCie using one of the LaCie's FW800 ports (as it has two of them that are not in use)


    LaCie = 1x FW400 port and 2x FW800 ports...the FW400 is in use (connected to iMac)

    Sony DVD writer = 1 x FW400..which I need to connect to the LaCie

    but I don't know if I can go from the LaCie's 800 to the sony's 400 and if so, I don't know which cable I need and I don't know if it will cause performance issue's
     
  4. 9Charms macrumors regular

    9Charms

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    I don't think Firewire 400 and Firewire 800 are physically compatible. I also do not believe there is a cable that would convert the 2... are you sure that the devices don't have USB port or something as well?
     
  5. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #5
    Sorry about that, you need to get the adapter that goes from 9 pin to 6 pin and then you can plug in your dvd burner to your LaCie HDD.
    And yes it will allow a FW400 to daisy chain from a FW800 as it is backward compatable. I did have a FW800/FW400 adapter at one time but sold it since my iMac doesn't have FW800 (sorry, it would have been yours).
    You need something like this or do a search for a cable...http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000T70SG/sr=1-42/qid=1149086394/ref=sr_1_42/102-4247227-7664150?%5Fencoding=UTF8&s=pc

    Just make sure that the ends are 9 pin into the LaCie and 6 pin that will let the FW400 cable plug into it as I "think" this is just what you need.
    Good luck :D
     
  6. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #6
  7. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #7
    I'm of a different mind in that I won't use USB 2.0 for anything other than a printer/scanner/card reader/camera, you get the idea. For something such as dvds/HDD or a camcorder I'd only use FW or a FW hub (those cost $25 and up on Amazon) for such purposes as Daisy chaining or even the use of transfering large GB sizes. Anything over 4 GB a lot of people have testified to the fact that USB 2.0 can't handle it well and really why take the chance if you don't absolutely have to.
    I'm not saying it's wrong just I'm not a fan of chances with this type of data in question ;)
    By the way the Dino does look cool!
     
  8. arcsbite thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #8
    I'm using the USB ports already, I prefer firewire as it's faster, I want to daisy chain to have less cable mess and i'm in the UK so a $25 hub would work out to about £50,000 after taxes and shipping lol
     

Share This Page