Quick Time Pro compression?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Chris Walsh, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. Chris Walsh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #1
    I just upgraded to QT Pro, and I am wondering about the creation of Image Sequences and compression. i am stop motion animator, so i have captured a bunch of still frames of my scene, and then used Image Sequencer to create an animated clip. then i can take that into iMovie or FC and cut it into my project.

    BUT- by creating the image sequence, is QT compressing or otherwise degrading the image quality of my stills? i want to maintain the same quality of the original stills all the way through to outputting on to mini dv. doe i need to set a compression format before creating the sequence? a fairly thorough search using QT Help and Apple.com didn't shed light...

    thanks!
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    As soon as you import the sequence into iMovie you are subjecting the images to the compression of MiniDV.


    Lethal
     
  3. Chris Walsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #3
    so i guess if my original image is of the same quality as minidv i am ok.

    i don't suppose you know the resolution of minidv in terms of pixels? (640X480, 720X586, that sort of thing)...i'm looking at buying a still camera that is a 4.2 Megapixel unit to take my original stills, when i will then animate via Quick Time Pro, then bring into iMovie.

    if minidv is a lot less than 4.2Megapixels, I might be losing a lot of detail in my clips as I bring them into iMovie....
     
  4. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #4
    dv is somewhere around 720x480 (i always get the second number wrong, sometimes it's 486, sometimes 540... blah). so, given that a 4.2 mp cam will take things up to probably 1900x whatever, yes, you are losing quality. but ultimately there's nothing you can do except work in an uncompressed format and then output to a better quality tape or film
     

Share This Page