Quick Virtual PC Question.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by neoelectronaut, Jan 19, 2004.

  1. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #1
    Being that I have a 32MB Radeon 7500, what should I have the VRAM settings in Virtual PC set at?
     
  2. DaveTheGrey macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #2
    Hi neoelectronaut,

    More VRAM means your VPC is able to show True Color in a higher resolution.
    = up to which resolution is true color available.

    4MB -> 1152 x 870 pixles.
    8MB -> 1600 x 1200 pixles.
    16 MB -> 1920 x 1200 pixles.

    Which resolution you have depends on your Monitor. When you have an 20"Inch screen you will have an higher reolution than me with my 12"Inch PowerBook.

    Look in VPC to your settings (rightclick on the desktop -> bottom of the pulldown menue) which resoultion you use and by this you make your VRAM settings. Normally 8MB is enough.

    Hope I could help you.

    Dave out.
     
  3. neoelectronaut thread starter macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #3
    Think I could get a Quickcam Express working with Yahoo Messenger within Virtual PC?
     
  4. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    You video card is not going to effect the vram in VPC. Since VPC uses no hardware acceleration, this means the vram resides in system ram, kinda like intergrated grahpics in the pc world. So setting it higher will increase you max res, but not based on the video card.
     
  5. meta-ghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    vpc settings

    while were on the topic...
    i'm trying to obtain the best settings for running autocad on vpc (not a great idea, but necessary in my case). i've read somewhere that to turn off virtual memory yielded the best results.

    however, when i go to "system props/advanced/performance options/virtual memory" i get options for a "paging file". not a simple on/off button for virtual memory. the minimum allowed is 2megs and the recommended is 766 megs. is there some other way to turn off? should i?

    in addition, how about screen resolution. if i lower it will the system perform better? autocad is the only pc app i'm using and i don't care about graphics here. presently have it set at 32 bit True Color. should i go to 16 bit or 256 colors?
     

Share This Page