quick y/n ?: Will my powerbook run a 30" display?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by munckee, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #1
  2. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    No.

    You will need a dual-link DVI capable graphics card.
     
  3. 4np
    macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    no... you should have bought the powerbook with the better graphics card and the dual link option.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    mfacey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    Only the powerbooks with a 128MB VRAM graphics card will run the 30-incher.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #5
    Thanks, that's what I thought. It's a bit of a pipe-dream anyway.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #6
    That's so scandalous! So what's the max size screen the PB can run?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #7
    I believe the resolution of a 23" ACD.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #8
    Man, that's horrible. Why are 23" ACD's so small? :mad:
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #9
    I'm not certain, but I believe the later powerbooks will run the 30. Maybe its after the "hi-res" change?
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #10
    Huh? First, 23" isn't that small...and second, it's, well, 23"...I don't think 23" comes in any size other than 23" :rolleyes:

    And it's not "scandalous" or a marketing trick...it's a technical limitation. Resolutions higher than 1920x1200 (the native res for the 23" ACD, the 24" Dell, and the 27" Dell) cannot be handled by the original DVI spec, and so require the newer "dual-link" DVI. I don't know why you're so shocked that a notebook that's several years old doesn't support the latest, largest monitors...technology moves fast.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #11
    Yeah but whatever happened to legacy support? It's infuriating to keep on having to upgrade everything all the time.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
  13. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #13
    As long as it has 128 MB graphics card I think?
     
  14. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #14
    Your statement is true, since the lowest end MBP has a 128MB graphics card. All the MBPs can power a 30".
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    #15
    Technically, all this has nothing to do with display size and everything to do with resolution.

    Dual-link DVI (MacBook Pro, some 17" and 15" aluminum PowerBooks) will drive up to 2560x1600
    DVI (older 17" and 15" aluminum PowerBooks) will drive up to 1920x1200
    Mini DVI (MacBook, 12" PowerBook) will drive up to 1920x1200 with DVI-to-Mini-DVI adapter.

    The iBook is a poor choice for external displays since it will only mirror its own 1024x768 display.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #16
    Apple's powerbook spec page says these can do 2048x1536 :confused:
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #17
    Its not a matter of "legacy support". The DVI spec didn't include provisions for monitors of that high of resolution back then. They can't go back in time and change the hardware of an older laptop. That would be like asking why an old CD burner won't burn DVDs. The technology is physically different. If it was just a software issue, I'm sure it would have been updated.

    Being able to drive a 23" ACD at 1920x1200 in full extended desktop mode is pretty damn good, if you ask me.

    peace,
    sam
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    #18
    Hmm, looks like it. I didn't know that. Thanks for the correction.

    I don't think it's a very popular resolution, though.
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    Riiight...

    It has nothing to do with legacy software. The specs have just changed.

    And hey, no one is FORCING you to upgrade. You make that choice.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #20
    The DL SuperDrive 15" and 17" PowerBooks released in October 2005 (the ones with the higher res screens) have 128MB graphics cards with dual-link DVI ports capable of driving the 30" display. Additionally, the immediately previous revision (January 2005) 17" PowerBooks (1.67GHz) have the 128MB graphics and dual-link DVI port standard. The 15" PowerBooks from that same revision (1.5GHz and 1.67GHz, also January 2005) had the 128MB graphics and dual-link DVI port as a BTO option, so you can find those but they aren't as common.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    TheMasin9

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Huber Heights, OH
    #21
    sorta...

    its only the powerbooks that have the dual link dvi, the vram has nothing to do with it. I have a 1.5 128 vram pb and since it does not have the dual link i can only run a 23 incher.
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #22
    Right, yours was from the 1.33/1.5GHz revision in 2004. Only the PowerBooks introduced in 2005 are capable, and only in the specs I listed above.

    This is when apple-history.com is helpful. :)
     

Share This Page