quicksilver only works with sawtooth cpu

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by ppalazzo, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #1
    I have a Quicksilver motherboard (M8359) that works fine with a 450MHz G4 processor from a Sawtooth machine, but whenever I try to use a quicksilver cpu it will not boot at all. The motherboard light goes on, the fans start blowing, but the hard drives and CD drive won't spin. I tried resetting the PMU, and I tested it with both an 867 MHz quicksilver and a 733 MHz one. I'm baffled.

    PPalazzo.
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #2
    Are there jumpers involved? Perhaps a software setting?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #3
    Jumpers as in the hard drives' jumpers? The master/slave settings I have are correct and work fine with the sawtooth cpu, but nothing even powers up with the quicksilver cpu except for the fans. I would try booting with an OS X cd, but the cd drive won't even power up to let me insert a cd.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    Is the CPU from the QuickSilver working in anything else? Have you tested it to make certain it's functional?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #5
    I don't have a second motherboard available to test it at this time, but I did try on two different quicksilver cpu's, so unless both are broken... Even if G4 processors were not backward-compatible with older motherboards, that would explain only why the 867 doesn't work, not the 733 (although i know DA cpu's do work on AGP logic boards).
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Are the bus speeds right? I dont know what the bus is on a 450mhz sawtooth but if tis a hundred and the other 2 are 133......also is there any firmware upgrades?
     
  7. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #7
    Jumpers as in bus speed and multiplier jumpers. I'm not sure if the QS logic board has them, but I know my beige G3 does.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #8
    It was the freakin' 4th mounting point... I thought I could get away with 3 screws and forgot about that 12V on the 4th screw. Thanks to all for the help.
     
  9. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder

Share This Page