Quicksilver Server?

Discussion in 'MacRumors News Discussion (archive)' started by arn, May 2, 2002.

  1. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #1
    An item on eBay surfaced... which claims to be a Macintosh G4 Quicksilver 2002 Server Logic Board

    * 800 MHz or 933 MHz PowerPC G4 processor; or dual 1 GHz PowerPC G4 processors
    * Four (4) 64-bit PCI Slots
    * Four (4) DDR RAM slots (yes, DDR!)
    * Velocity Engine vector processing unit
    * Full 128-bit internal memory data paths
    * Powerful floating-point unit supporting single-cycle, double-precision calculations
    * Data stream prefetching operations supporting four simultaneous 32-bit data streams
    * 256K on-chip L2 cache running at processor speed
    * 2 MB DDR SDRAM L3 cache per processor, with up to 4 GB per second throughput (933 MHz and dual 1 GHz systems)
    * 133 MHz system bus supporting over 1 GBps data throughput

    Not sure what it is... as I doubt it is as advertised...
     
  2. arn
    thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    my 2 cents...

    it doesn't look my Quicksilver Dual 800 motherboard.

    It's clearly got 4 dimm slots... current Macs have 3.

    arn
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    Whoa Nelly!

    Now this is an interesting piece. Does anyone know if the board, by just looking at the picture, is the same board shape as in a current QuickSilver?

    It makes for interesting conversation regardless.

    And why is it red? I've never seen Apple use a red cicuit board before.
     
  4. arn
    thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #4
    Pic of the current Quicksilver motherboard: http://homepage.mac.com/macspeedzon...w/reviews/comp/a/quicksilver/733/heatsink.jpg - looks the same as my Dual 800.

    Note the image in the ebay item looks "reversed" - in that the slots are on the wrong side... note, this could be a simple "flipping" on the image that was done at some point in the picture->upload process

    arn
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    3rdpath

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    2nd star on the right and straight till morning
    #5
    interesting

    couldn't find any info on the seller( location, etc).

    he's only sold OS 9, X and FCP in the past.

    it says its from a test system-if so, apple may still technically own this( if its real) and this item may disappear off E-bay when apple finds out.

    may be a hoax or glimpse into the future:)
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    mcrain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    On the bottom of the page, the listing says that all hardware is refurbished unless otherwise noted. So, if this is to be believed, this board has been out and used, and then returned and refurbished.

    If that's true, don't you think we would have heard about it before now?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #7
    Strange, if it is truly a mac server board, and never has been released before, how can it be on ebay?????
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #8
    Wait a minute

    It says that it is using DDR, however, he says the Bus speed is 133 mhz. I don't smoke crack, so isn't that impossible? Last time I checked you needed to be at a higher system bus to run DDR?
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #9
    Is the processor slot in the top right?

    If that's it then it isn't built for a standard heat sink. Too close to the side.
    :confused: :eek: :) :confused: :) :confused:
     
  10. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #10
    Here is a copy of the picture flipped to the correct way. Do the ports line up for the back of the current case? I am in the land of the G3.

    [image removed per apple legal]
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #11
    last time I saw a motherboard in the color red it was from a prototype...
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    A 133 bus speed would mean be effective 266 DDR.

    I think it's fake the PPC7450 and 7455 don't support DDR.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    #13
    This is real and MUCH BETTER DEAL!!!!

    I found this on eBay as well, sounds like a much a better "real" deal to me....

    [link removed... ed note: dont' want to encourage people to start posting their own ebay items... good try though :) ]

    ;)
     
  14. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #14
    Re: interesting

    The guy has 10 reviews on him, and they are all positive. Don't really know what to think of this. Man, it has me salivating very badly though.:D
     
  15. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #15
    I agree with Eye. Apple does their testing boards in red. Or, they could be bringing out the

    G-reddelicious PowerMac
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #16
    WHOA

    It could be a prototype like others have said. This guy might have connections inside Apple or through a friend. That is freaking awsome! God I hope it is real!
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #17
    So actually one of the hardware testers threw this board for sale?!?
    Why should one do that? for the extra cash?
    Still find it super strange.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    If this guy has violated an NDA his in the ****.
     
  19. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #19
    Well those are definatly DDR slots. Look at the seats on them. I just pulled some DDR out of a system here at work, and they match!!!! If this is real, it is a radical deisgn change though. Look at the pic that arn posted, and the one that I threw up that was corrected. Major differences in the board design itself.

    Looks like the rumors (like the one I posted...pats self on back) are very possibly true.

    Lets all hold hands, sing Kumbaya, and dream happy dreams....
     
  20. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #20
    Well if the red is an indication of a prototype, how can this guy get away with selling it? I'd think it would be exactly leagal, but I don't know much about this sort of thing.

    So this board would support a total of 2 gigs of RAM, which would be nice, and its faster. Its going pretty cheap so far as well. But why would the power source be 28V? That ones got me curious.
     
  21. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #21
    Duke,
    That would be 4 GB of ram on the board, not 2. Also, the voltage could be because of multiple processors, or due to the memory bandwidth?
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    If apple do get it pulled surely this would be an admission on their part.

    Maybe they should leave it up just to mess with us;)
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #23
    rickey939
    macrumors newbie

    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Land of Oz
    Posts: 1

    who's to say you aren't the seller?
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    #24
    LOL, what? You lost me.

    My now defunk link was to my PowerBook G4 on eBay, that's all. I have NOTHING to do with this thingee-ma-gig...sorry.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    eric_n_dfw

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    DFW, TX, USA
    #25
    DDR on a G4

    Could, possibly, a G4 support DDR if some kind of memory controller made it look like standard RAM to the G4?

    ie: the memory controller talks 133 Mhz DDR to the memory and 266Mhz standard SDRAM style to the G4.

    Just a thought.

    -Eric
     

Share This Page