Quicksilver Won't Boot

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by seamuskrat, Oct 28, 2004.

  1. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #1
    I have a Dual 1 gig QuickSilver machine with 1 gig of RAM OS 10.3.

    I shut down the Mac a few days ago while I was out of town. When I returned last night, I cannot boot the machine. The power light glows and the Mac makes a slight 'click' and that is it. No fans, no hard drives, nothing.

    I checked all my cables and opened the box to take a peek. Again, when I press the power button, it glows for a second, and the logic board has two LEDS that flash briefly, and the CPU fan briefly whirs to life and then it turns off.

    I checked all internal and external cables. All seems fine.

    It is acting like a power supply problem or internal short or safety is preventing it from progressing in the boot. Is this possible? How do I reset this?

    Up until last night, this Machine was solid as a rock with no problems at all. No new instals, software updates, or hardware changes have been made in quite some time. I have removed all attached devices except for Apple keyboard and mouse and no luck either.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Brize macrumors 6502a

    Brize

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    A friend of mine had this same issue. I seem to recall that resetting the power supply solved the problem. Did you notice a reset button when you opened the case?
     
  3. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I recall that Edesignuk has a very similar problem a while back on his Quicksilver of similar specification. If I see him on AIM tonight I will point him toward this thread.
     
  4. seamuskrat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #4
    I am not with the Mac right now. I did reset the CUDA switch on the main board. But I admit I only pressed it briefly. I am not aware of an actual power supply reset. I will look into it.

    Thanks
     
  5. JonGraves macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle WA, USA
    #5
    Motherboard battery?

    Hey seamuskrat,
    Could it be a motherboard battery issue? Try pulling it, blowing the dust bunnies off and reseating it. If that does not work you might want to replace it anyway.

    Jon
     

Share This Page