Quicktime 6, and MPEG-4 Licensing

Discussion in 'MacRumors News Discussion (archive)' started by arn, Jul 15, 2002.

  1. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #1
    Apple official released Quicktime 6 today... And according to CNet, new licensing terms have been arranged:

    Under the new terms, owners of Web site content can license the latest video and audio compression format for 25 cents per subscriber or 2 cents per hour, subject to a $1 million annual cap. Also, MPEG LA set a minimum threshold so that content owners with fewer than 50,000 subscribers aren't subject to royalties. The fees are applicable to Web site operators that benefit commercially from use of the technology, through either paid advertisements, pay-per-view services or subscriptions.

    Previous terms had no annual cap.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #2
    i just got my pro key

    and i'm ready to rock. AAC is super sweet and mp4 is nice. can't wait for vid and audio apps to support mpg4. imaging AAC and Flash? wow... but that won't happen for a while i guess.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    #3
    broadcaster

    still having trouble with broadcaster i made the spd file and sent it to a friend..they opened it up and get this component is missing crap..anybody have any ideas?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #4
    post up a zip of the file and i'll give it a go
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    #5
    well the thing is to do..

    a manual unicast you must have the other person's ip..i managed to get it to work on with a friend on her XP box but not with a friend on her dual gig X machine..go figure
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    Atlantic City area
    #6
    Re: broadcaster

    Worked for us...real nice even though there was a slight delay the quality was good!
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #7
    quicktime pro

    Please excuse my ignorance on this subject. I couldnt find any information on it at the apple site.

    I have Quicktime 5 Pro. If I upgraded to quicktime 6, would it be the pro version? or do I have to pay for it again? I dont want to download 6 and have it delete Q5Pro. Anyone know about this
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    #8
    compatibility issues?

    just wondering if anyone's had compatibility problems yet with apps like final cut pro, imovie, VLC (i use it for VCD), or the DiVX 5 alpha 2.
     
  9. macrumors member

    kothrush

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    #9
    5.0 Pro

    You Do Not get updates to QT 6 pro if you update from 5.0 Pro. You will need to buy the Pro version of QT 6 after updating. I did not know that and so I dont have Pro version now. Does anyone know how do I get my QT 5 back? Can I have QT 5 and 6 at the same time?? :(
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Re: compatibility issues?

    VLC is broke, in fact VLC has a notice on their downloads page about it, they blame Apple.

    DivX 5 alpha 2 works beautfiully it's much much smoother than QT 5 and the quality is amazing. Unfortunately there's some "bug" in QT 6 that applies to mp3 audio in divx files. At least that's what divx.com claims in their readme for the mac plug-in. As a result you have to run all your files through their validator before they can be played by Quicktime. I find this ridiculous, that was the one fix that I hoped Apple would make to QT 6 and never did

    :(
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    #11
    So AAC and .MP4 are the same thing?

    Bill
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #12
    mpeg4= video

    aac= audio

    and doesn't aac have that digital rights management stuff in it?
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #13
    What the f....?

    Great! :mad: Of course you can only download the US-English version, for all the other versions it say "Internal Server Error"!

    If they don't have it so far, they shouldn't offer it on the page and give a date when it will be available!

    Stuff like that starts to be typical for Apple! :(

    groovebuster
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Location:
    Champaign, IL, USA
    #14
    nope.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    #15
    Can someone please tell me if..

    Can someone using QT 6 tell me whether it works with iMovie2? It didn't work (well, it crashed when I launched it..) with the preview version.

    I'd really appreciate it. Thanx.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #16
    Re: Can someone please tell me if..

    From the horses mouth:
    Will my QuickTime-based application support MPEG-4?
    Any application that properly uses the Export component of QuickTime can create MPEG-4 files.


    On another matter: is mpeg-2 supported yet? When the qt6 public preview was released, the apple web site said that mpeg-2 support would be incorporated into the final version. From what i've read on the qt pages at apple, that hasn't happened yet. Have i just missed it, or did apple not quite deliver?
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #17
    Re: compatibility issues?

    No problem in FCP, plus, even though I have also lost my 5 Pro, I can export in all formats from FCP, which is cool, if a little bit of a heavey handed way to convert stuff:D
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    QT6 MPEG4 is rubbish. It will not play well on my PowerBook G4 550. My 600MHz AMD duron PC runs it better. I have the faster Mac out of everyone I know, so how is anyone else going to play MPEG4. If Apple does not solve this problem I will have to think about getting a PC laptop (to do video presentations).
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #19
    Re: quicktime pro

    http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/system_req.html
    says:

    "QuickTime 6 will replace older versions of QuickTime. A QuickTime 6 Pro key is required to unlock Pro functionality in QuickTime 6. If you wish to use a QuickTime 4 or 5 Pro key, you need to run an older version of QuickTime. Prior versions of QuickTime are available in our Technical Support area."

    Can it be any more ambiguous? I think not.

    I got there from the "Read Note to Quicktime Pro users" on the http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Big Shoulders
    #20
    I'm kinda afraid to install it. If I don't like it, can I re-install QT 5? Anybody know?
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    LBC
    #21
    VLC

    QT6 breaks VLC? I thought VLC was stand alone...

    Apple is being stupid about Divx.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #22
    Re: VLC

    I Don't follow?
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    ShaolinMiddleFinger

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    #23
    i'm having problems exporting a 75 meg music video to MP4. It exports the video but I get no audio at all. I looked in the options menu for the original, it tells me there's no audio...when I can hear my audio playing. Anyone having this problem? Anyone have the answer? Yes, I have the pro key for it, too
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #24
    QUICKTIME 6 Hangs

    When I try to get to the favorites in QT6 it hangs and is unusable until I force quit it from the dock. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page