Quicktime 7.0 in Software update...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by AmigoMac, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #1
    New Features (to be listed)
    and new pro functions.

    Have to check what they are... coming.

    Edit: Maybe another member can post the update features, I tried to copy and paste but was too late. Still searching them.

    Going to buy QT Pro 7.0 :)
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Downloading right now... I better buy the pro version...

    I'm still on 10.3.9, so the upgrade really is for "everybody"... ;)
     
  3. andrewfee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    #3
    I didn't make a note of them either, lol.

    It seems to have the live resizing that I thought would have been a Tiger only thing, and it works fairly well.

    Quite annoyed though, it was only a month or so ago that I boughht QT6 Pro, was hoping it'd leave in the features I had, and keep the new QT7 stuff locked, or that they'd have an upgrade option. (yes, it's only £20, but I don't have £20 spare right now)
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    The update hasn't even appeared on Apple - Support, yet... :)

    Available when QT7 is installed, is QuickTime 7 SDK:
    (and this time I remembered the notes, yes... ;))

    Edit: While QuickTime 7 requires a restart, QuickTime 7 SDK does not... :)
     
  5. AmigoMac thread starter macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #5
    I bought QT 7.0 Pro. Just :cool:

    I like the video control @ full screen, the video and audio recording function, pretty handy.

    Export and share, great for emailing to family and friends.
    ~30 € :eek: But I use it a lot.

    Real time resizing is fantastic. actually, now I can't remember how it was before. but I like it better now.
     
  6. dogsbody macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    #6
    Specially for AmigoMac....

    QuickTime 7 provides a vast array of new features, including:

    H.264 video support
    Live player resize
    Zero-configuration streaming
    Surround sound
    New and improved playback controls
    All-new content guide
    Additionally, QuickTime 7 Pro users will enjoy the following new capabilities:

    Audio and video recording
    Simplified movie sharing
    Full-screen floating controls
    H.264 video creation
    Surround audio creation
    Concurrent exports
    Improved movie authoring
    AAC constant-quality encoding
    3G streaming content creation
    To learn more, please visit www.apple.com/quicktime.

    Important Notice to QuickTime Pro Users

    Installation of QuickTime 7 will disable the QuickTime Pro functionality in prior versions of QuickTime. If you proceed with this installation, you must purchase a new QuickTime 7 Pro key to regain QuickTime Pro functionality. After installation, visit www.apple.com/quicktime to purchase a QuickTime 7 Pro key.
     
  7. AmigoMac thread starter macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #7
    Thanks dogsbody! :)

    Now we can know what we got, I saw it and said : Great! and downloaded it. :p
     
  8. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    Just installed it, but I don't seem to be able to play .avi files. Has the way components work changed? I just checked and I still have the DivX 5.2 component in my Quicktime folder, which was working in QT6.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    My first impression upon seeing this news: Great! I'll be able to buy 7 Pro now :)

    Upon closer inspection: OK, my country's not in the list, and there's no option for unlisted countries :mad:

    Now I'm waiting for Apple to reply to my email.
     
  10. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    QT7 is slow(really slow) in loading Divx and Xvid movies, even if you have their respective codecs in the Quicktime folder. Need updated codecs.
     
  11. dogsbody macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    #11
    New member of the QT7 Pro Club

    No problem, AmigoMac.

    I only loaded in my recently retrieved QT6 Pro code last night...just downloaded and bought 7 Pro though.

    Damn I hate being so fixated on Apple!

    I like the Audio recording capabilities - bit concerned that the only recording options listed in the 'recording' preference pane were AAC/MPEG4&h.264 as this relies on the people being e-mailed it to have QT or at least for the person recording the files to export it using a different format.

    Maybe I just haven't delved deep enough yet.

    Dog.

    Edit: Not forgetting the device native option, of course...just delved a little more. :eek:
     
  12. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #12
    I'm having big problems...

    I can't play media off of our streaming server. The window comes up, I hear sound, but there's no video. Just a blank white screen.

    I tried going to the Quicktime "Apple Events" page. Can't play that either. See the little "Q" with the "?" in it?

    This is happening on all three computers I upgraded to 7.

    NOT impressed.

    EDIT: I should also mention that the videos on our streaming server DO still play on a PC with Quicktime 6.5. It's something to do with 7.0.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. dogsbody macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    #13
    MattG's problems not isolated...

    MattG,

    Seems my Quicktime has similar issues to yours - can't get any of the Quicktime content on Apple's site to work properly - even the sample movies on the Quicktime tab! Very strange...maybe there's a countdown timer that activates it at the same time the Tigers are released into the wild....

    Or maybe there's a company called QuicktimeDirect that are trying to sue, and Apple have had to put its functionality on hold ;)

    Edit: Dammit! Jumped the gun again...some of the Apple quicktime content isn't working - things like the QT movies of the products work, but the interactive things on the QT site don't appear to work - they get the question mark, like the ones in MattG's post.
     
  14. AmigoMac thread starter macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #14
    Hey, you're right, I have to look for some codecs, can't play some old videos (AVI Files) :( . What's up? I saw some of them yesterday with QT 6 Pro.
     
  15. SPUY767 macrumors 68000

    SPUY767

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    GA
    #15
    I've been running Tiger for two weeks now.

    Without so much as a hint of problem from QT 7. Got my pro key this morning, and everything is working fantastic. I'm really waiting for the QT website to start carrying H.264 encoded trailers. Insofar as I can tell, Tiger is quite the speed demon, on everything from my G4/450, to my friend's Mini, to my 2.5 Dualie. BTW, yes, I downloaded the GM from the net, but I also got my boxed copy yesterday. I shrinkwrapped it, and am Going to keep it as a collectible. "Original Boxed copy of the world's first mass-market 64 bit OS." How much will that be worth in 2050?
     
  16. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #16
    Hooray! Quicktime Player app is written in Cocoa and is powered by Quartz 2D Extreme. Just wait until Apple unlocks Q2DE in 10.4.1, we'll see massive hardware GPU accelerated QT playback.
     
  17. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #17
    Priceless to you, worthless to the rest of the world! :)

     
  18. imnoah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    #18
    All is fine on the Western front

    No problems using OT 7 on 10.3.9, but I'd like to know where to find some H.264 content to watch. Anybody have some suggestions?

    Also, if anyone is feeling generous today, feel free to buy me a QT Pro license :)
     
  19. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #19
    Quicktime 7 for Windows

    The Windows version isn't available yet. :( My friends can't view the video clips I send from Mail using my iSight Camera using the new codec.
     
  20. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #20
    Are you sure you got an untouched copy of the GM? If you have any odd problems I suggest you use the install disc that came in the box. And have fun if/when Apple's lawyers come a calling to find out where you downloaded the GM from.
     
  21. animefan_1 macrumors regular

    animefan_1

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    How do you know that's coming in 10.4.1 :confused:
     
  22. meno mosso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    #22
    ichat?

    Does anyone know if q7 will give 10.3.9 users better quality video in iChat?
     
  23. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #23
    Yes, but you'll need a G5 to take adv of H.264, since the codec is really demanding.
     
  24. GodBless macrumors 65816

    GodBless

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #24
    Good joke. H.264 is so scaleable that it can be used in cell phones. Show me a cell phone with a G5 in it. H.264 will work fine on any machine that can run OS X.
     
  25. beengone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #25
    [PRO] menu items

    CHEEZY! I was always bugged by the little pop-up "Get QuickTime Pro now" window. Now, we get to have cluttered menus showing us what we can't do with the regular version. Give me a break. I do have a copy of Pro. I just don't use it in this office. If I need ot edit content, I go across the hall. I don't want my menus cluttered. . .
     

Share This Page