QuickTime 7.1 Now Available

Discussion in 'MacRumors News Discussion (archive)' started by MacRumors, May 11, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Now in Software Update:
    Users of QuickTime Pro 6 or earlier will lose "pro" functionality unless they purchase a QuickTime 7 Pro key. QuickTime 7 Pro users can upgrade without loss of pro functionality.

    A direct download of the update is also available.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    It's about time the security issue was fixed. I'm sure, given the time it took, that it was properly handled.

    When it opened the initial window, there was some odd behaviour with only the window frame and close button showing but it seems to be fine now.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #3
    I think Apple may be learning to state their QT6 Pro disclaimer a little more clearly. Maybe this will be the first QT7 update that doesn't have QT7 Pro users hollering mistakenly about having to buy a new key :)

    EDIT: I spoke too soon. MacRumors was clear about it, but Apple's using the same statement as always it seems. (Which is also clear, but is commonly misread. No, you don't need to buy QT7 Pro more than once.)
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #4
    I hope H.264 encoding is worked upon - it really was slow before, I was at 7.04 - now moving onto 7.1.

    Apple, please work on creating better H.264 encoding!! I'm sure my Dual G5 can encode quicker than this! :(

    Hopefully its quicker after the update. I'll do a check now.

    F
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Does it adversely effect Flip4Mac?
     
  6. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    your right i had to read it twice and then just one more time to make sure:rolleyes:

    you'd think they'd just say - QT Pro user will just need to enter there serial code again
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #7
    H.264 encoding

    Anyone know if this effects encoding speed? I have a dual G5 and the encoding is pretty slow in my opinion.

    Apple really could do with working on AltiVec optimisation for H,264 - OR get the graphics card to help like what other software vendors are doing

    F
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    #8
    Possible QT Audio Problem

    I just updated Quicktime and there appears to be associated audio problems. Just visited Apple's home page (www.apple.com) and the Quicktime movie had no audio playback. Additionally, Flip4Mac also seems to have muted audio when playing back WMV files as well.

    Anyone else experience similar issues after updating QuickTime?

    :confused:
     
  9. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    That could confuse people too. The important point is that QT7 users don't need to do or know anything special, QT6 non-pro and earlier users don't need to do or know anything, but QT6 Pro and earlier users either need to pay Apple for a new Pro key or not download the update. It's hard to say that without somebody getting confused.

    It would be nicer if:
    Apple kept Pro features turned on across major release changes - no paying every time.​
    or
    Apple let you use either the latest QuickTime non-pro or a previous version of QuickTime Pro that you had purchased. You could switch between them in the QuickTime preference pane. That way you could choose whether to use new QuickTime features, use old Pro features, or pay to upgrade and have both at the same time.​
    Either way, nobody would lose something they previously bought and the giving the proper warning wouldn't be such an issue.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #10
    I haven't had a chance yet to actually export a H.264 clip yet, but I saw new export options to control the aspect ratio, dimensions, letterboxing, and de-interlacing. The de-interlacing option is a welcome addition for converting DV footage to H.264. It saves you a processing cycle through MPEG Streamclip or JES De-interlacer.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #11
    I just hope it fixes all the bugs in 7.0.4. Worst QT release in a long time, they actually had to release a 7.0.4 to 7.0 rollback app.
     
  12. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #12
    Well, I can now play some .h264 files that were unplayable in QT on my machine before the update (had to play them through Mplayer-pre8). So I assume 7.1 makes QT run leaner.

    The green zoom button also centers the video on your screen now.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #13
    No huge speed increase here at the TV station

    No huge speed increase here at the TV station
     
  14. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #14
    None that I can find. After the reboot, I've been playing Nintendo E3 footage without and issue.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    #15
    Yes, which I find highly, highly annoying. Why does it bother to start the window over in the left corner then? Then the "zoom" button centers it, and then if you move the new large centered video over the left again and then press the "zoom" button, it just puts the video back in the center and never makes it smaller again. WTF? :mad:
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Location:
    Hollywood North
    #16
    DiskWarrior 3.0.3

    QT 7.1 does NOT fix the crash on exit from DiskWarrior 3.0.3
    _______________________________________________________

    G5 1.8 DP (Rev. A) Mac OS X (10.4.6) ATI X800 XT, 4GB RAM,
    20" Cinema Display, M-Audio Revolution 5.1
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Generally, no. F4M Playback looks unchanged from 7.0.4 to 7.1

    However, I notice that Quicktime 7.1 is no longer reporting what video codec F4M is using (wmv7, wmv8, wmv9, etc) in the get info window. Just says "WMV image codec."

    Likewise with Divx 6. All Divx avi's appear to be reported generically in Quicktime as Divx 6. Before, the version number of the clip's Divx codec (5.xx, or 3.xx, etc.) was reported. Playback isn't a problem, looks fine.

    Not reporting specific codecs and the version numbers for clips handled by F4M and Divx can turn out to be a pain when troubleshooting or resolving a conflict.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Cubert

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #18
    Hopefully 7.1 returns QuickTime's playback speed to that of 6.5. I have been sorely disappointed in QuickTime 7's playback. It seems to be isolated to very large files (ie. greater than 50-100 MB). With QuickTime 6.5, very large MPEG's played flawlessly on my Cube (even in full screen). With 7.0, I get 1-2 frames per second - totally unacceptable! I hope 7.1 fixes this.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    #19
    Digital Optical output

    Upgraded to the newest version of QuickTime and now experiencing muted audio with online QT files. Using Digital Optical output for audio. Anyone using Digital Optical output experiencing any muted output problems after upgrading?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    #20
    After upgrade browsers are showing black square with text 'no picture'

    Just upgraded the security patch and quicktime and FireFox and Safari both show a black square with 'No Picture' when I load a page with a .mov file ( Apples home page for instance ). Tried a manual install and turned off flip4mac and no joy.

    Anyone else seen this or have any ideas.


    Machine Name: PowerBook G4 17"
    Machine Model: PowerBook5,5
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.1)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1.5 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 167 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.8.6f0

    System Software Overview:

    System Version: Mac OS X 10.4.6 (8I127)
    Kernel Version: Darwin 8.6.0
    Boot Volume: Macintosh HD
     
  21. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #21
    Strange to see that the QT 6 Pro users will loose their Pro license ???

    Otherwise..keep the updates coming ;)
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #22
    For the record, current QT 7 Pro users didn't have to re-enter their serial number.
     
  23. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #23
    It says so in the first post :confused:

    Update works great for me ;)
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    #24

    OK after a little digging I figured out the problem. The VLC plugin was causing a problem. Possible related to the security update. I removed the file

    /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/VLC Plugin.plugin

    And Everything now works.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #25
    That's nonsense. The BBC Wild Life Africa HD movie from quicktime.com now plays with considerably more stutter and many, many frame losses (sometimes getting only a new image every one or two seconds) on my 1.67 Powerbook G4. With the exception of the beginning, this used to run okay (low framerate, but really few stutter) on the machine before. FFS Apple.
     

Share This Page