Quicktime Broadcaster error - disk is full?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jimthorn, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. jimthorn macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    #1
    I was experimenting with Quicktime Broadcaster for the first time today as a way to record video from my iSight. I read an article about doing it here. Anyhow, it seems to work except for one big thing: when I begin broadcasting, after about one second, I get an error message telling me that "The disk is almost full. Recording has been stopped, but broadcasting will continue." I have over 20GB free, and I set the app to save files into my Movies folder. All that saves is a 4KB file before it stops, probably just file headers with no video. Anybody know what I'm doing wrong?
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Hmm, that's an interesting one. I'm not seeing anything similar on Apple's support discussions.

    Have you tried other cameras and/or computers?
     
  3. jimthorn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    #3
    I don't currently have any other Macs or cameras. I have successfully done this using iRecordNow, but that app is no longer in beta and requires a license fee of $14.95. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem paying for shareware that I use, but I wanted to try Apple's own free Quicktime Broadcaster before I shelled out the cash.
     
  4. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    I'll have to try this at work tomorrow on my iSight there and see what happens...
     
  5. jimthorn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    #5
    I should point out that I'm running 10.3 Panther, but I am not using FileVault.

    I also discovered another article that suggests that iRecordNow is better at recording iSight video to the HD than Quicktime Broadcaster (audio/video sync issues), so I may just give up on this and buy the other app.

    It's still an odd error though.
     
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    I'm getting the same error on FileVault-less 10.3 with an iSight and a DV camcorder.

    Looks like another possible Panther bug...
     
  7. jimthorn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
  8. valencio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #8
    Possible Solution

    Try running the periodic maintenance scripts from terminal:

    sudo periodic monthly
    sudo periodic weekly
    sudo periodic daily

    Doing this more than doubled the amount of time I can record using Broadcaster, although I'm still getting that stupid message after about 2.6GB.
     
  9. vidjan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    #9
    We have The Applecare Support and when talking to them
    they transfered me to Mario at Enterprise Servers and
    Said he knows what the problem is but first I need to
    Pay $199.95 for The Enterprise Server Support.

    Are we suppose to pay for solutions for Bugs in Panther?
     
  10. FuzzyBallz macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #10
    LOL, good old AppleCare.
     

Share This Page