QuickTime files to DVD

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Artful Dodger, May 27, 2005.

1. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger

Hi, my question comes after a long search (maybe I didn't use the right terms) I know it's pretty easy but here it is. I have the 3rd season of RedvsBlue (Halo) and (legal) each episode is in QuickTime format (.mov), how can I put all of these onto one dvd? Would I import them into iMovie or just use Toast 6 and burn them to dvd? I would like to add chapters (iDVD). Also I don't have QT Pro yet (will be getting next week).
    Sorry if it's an easy one but I've never tried to burn QT files before and use Toast 6 for burning other things than QT files for my stand alone dvd player, thanks for the help and input ;)

2. ravenvii macrumors 604

ravenvii

Just drag and drop them into iMovie and do the chapters thing in it, then export into iDVD. You can't do chapters in iDVD itself.

3. Artful Dodger thread starter macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger

4. Artful Dodger thread starter macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger

Update

Okay so everything was going ok until I put the QT folder of RedvsBlue into Toast 6, thought I should make a SVCD but it starts to encode, gets half way through and quits.
    This lead me to do as above and put it in iMovie--great but 2 things:
    When I put the files into iMovie it tells me it will take 396 mins and each file that is placed into iMovie ends up being about 1-1.2 gigs large :eek:
    That would be ok but the season has 18 episodes. Did I do something wrong or is this normal?
    When I tried to make the SVCD it said 2.3gigs total but the folder with all QT files is 676mb :confused: any help would be great as I feel it may not be worth it to make these into a DVD for me, thanks again.

5. Veldek macrumors 68000

Veldek